cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Connection

N/A

Slow Connection

Traceroute Results: View Traceroute
Traceroute Time (24 Hour): 18:36 to 18:37
Traceroute Duration: 1 minutes
Traceroute Packet Size: . bytes
Exchange: Scotstoun
Problem: Permanently Slow Data Transfer (Everything is slow)
Duration of Problem: Less than 1 week
Minimum Speed Achieved On PlusNet Speedtest: 395.7 kbps
Maximum Speed Achieved On PlusNet Speedtest: 434.8 kbps
Average Speed Achieved On PlusNet Speedtest: 415.25 kbps
Account: ADSL Office 1000 (20:1)
IP Block Size: 8
Ticket Number: None
Additional Information: None
13 REPLIES
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

My connection is diabolical again tonight. Web pages are taking longer to load than when I was on dial up. Just done the speed test from ADSL site and got

Downstream 542 Kbps (67.8 KB/sec) 585 Kbps (inc. overheads)
Upstream 243 Kbps (30.4 KB/sec) 262 Kbps

and from the plusnet one : -

PlusNet Speed Test

Your current speed is:

706.10kbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Slow Connection

Can you post a tracert to www.plus.net. I suspect you are effected by the high pings on pth-gw3 as in the first post which is slowing your connection down. Sometimes disconnecting and reconnecting a few times can get you off gw3 and get your speeds back.

PN are planning a router reboot tomorrow morning to hopefully solve this - see service status announcements for more details.
ID
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: 08-08-2007

Slow Connection

1st time i've had this happen since the problem started.
Fingers crossed for tomorrow.

1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms xxxxxxxxxxxxxx [192.168.x.x]
2 15 ms 14 ms 15 ms lo0.plusnet.pth-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.11]
3 619 ms 599 ms 614 ms gi1-2.vlan3.pth-gw3.plus.net [212.159.1.2]
4 605 ms 585 ms 570 ms gi4-0-23.pth-gw2.plus.net [195.166.129.219]
5 625 ms 627 ms 615 ms atm0-1-0.ptb-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.246]
6 621 ms 624 ms 645 ms vl4.sec.ptb-gw3.plus.net [195.166.129.227]
7 601 ms 588 ms 588 ms if2.ptb-al1.plus.net [195.166.129.39]
8 605 ms 608 ms 598 ms www.plus.net [212.159.8.137]
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

Quote
Can you post a tracert to www.plus.net. I suspect you are effected by the high pings on pth-gw3 as in the first post which is slowing your connection down. Sometimes disconnecting and reconnecting a few times can get you off gw3 and get your speeds back.

PN are planning a router reboot tomorrow morning to hopefully solve this - see service status announcements for more details.


Thanks for the reply. I'm afraid I don't know how to do a trace route. I have tried disconnecting earlier but it didnt make any difference.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Slow Connection

flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

Thanks read that, know what to do, but don't know how you open DOS/Command prompt now! Shockedops:
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Slow Connection

start -> run and enter either cmd (WinXP/2K/NT) or command (Win9x/Me) and click OK.

Or you could run the WinMTR app also detailed in that tutorial. Run it for a few minutes, click stop, click 'copy text to clipboard'. Then paste into a new post.
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

Sussed it : Smiley

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.



Tracing route to portal.plus.net [212.159.8.137]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 46 ms 52 ms 45 ms lo1.plusnet.pth-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.6]
3 45 ms 52 ms * gi1-2.vlan3.pth-gw4.plus.net [212.159.1.3]
4 54 ms 55 ms 54 ms gi5-0-22.pth-gw2.plus.net [195.166.129.213]
5 59 ms 60 ms 54 ms atm0-1-0.ptb-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.246]
6 52 ms 47 ms 48 ms vl4.sec.ptb-gw3.plus.net [195.166.129.227]
7 58 ms 60 ms 61 ms if2.ptb-al1.plus.net [195.166.129.39]
8 54 ms 58 ms 48 ms portal.plus.net [212.159.8.137]

Trace complete.

Hope it means something to you,. :?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Slow Connection

If you compare your figures with those posted by mhall1976 for pth-gw3 entry, yours are not as high and thus your problem may not be caused by high pings as I originally thought.

Can you try an ADSLguide speed test now and see what you get? You may have disconnected and reconnected onto a faster connection without realising it.

Or just wait until tomorrow and see if the maintenance makes any difference to your speeds.
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

Downstream 708 Kbps (88.5 KB/sec) 764 Kbps (inc. overheads)
Upstream 248 Kbps (31.0 KB/sec) 267 Kbps (inc. overheads)


Thanks, at least I learnt how to do something new. I will see what tomorrow brings then. It was fine yesterday, I had some of the best speeds ever.
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

Still no improvement. Fed up.

Your current speed is:

682.70kbps

Sad
N/A

Slow Connection

Hi,

If you are having speed problems please fill in the form at http://cgi.support.plus.com/faultreporting/ and paste the results in a contact us ticket and we can look into the problem for you.
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Slow Connection

It's okay again tonight. It varies so much, and I have looked at all the information on the link you have kindly provided. However, whilst I have all the necessary things (anti-virus, up-to-date modem drivers etc) I haven't the technical ability to alter all my settings to do the BT test. I don't know how to do it. I got the technician from the shop I bought my wireless router to set it all up for me. However, if there was any problem with my equipment, surely it would always be slow? I have done the speed test three times in the last 10 minutes, and am getting:
Your current speed is:
939.50kbps

so I have no complaints at all tonight. I don't do a lot of downloading, but I always know when there is something wrong because this forum for instance takes forever to load, and other forums that I visi are even worse, one in particular can take upwards of 30 seconds to load the home paget. It is always in the evenings, and disconnecting and re-connecting rarely does any good at all. My exchange always shows a green/no problem so it's not this end. Thank you for your interest though.