cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I be on 2mb?

craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Results from Whoosh Test :

Upstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 28.5 dB
Margin 23 dB
Errored Seconds 0
HEC Errors 0
Cell Count 25267
Speed 288 k

Downstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 51 dB
Margin 14 dB
Errored Seconds 1
HEC Errors 0
Cell Count 178467
Speed 2272 k
9 REPLIES
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

No. Your downstream loss is over the current limit of 43db, though you should be OK for 1Mb.
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Have been on 2mb for like a month now. Could that explain why I get crap speeds on occassions?
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

I'd have thought it would be giving you dropouts if the line wasn't happy.
I think we all slow down from time to time.
Perhaps one of the technical guys on the forum would know more about this.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Well a wooosh test is known to add about 4dB to the actual line figure once the line is ADSL enabled, so in reality the line probably has a downstream loss of around 47dB. This will very likely work at 2Mb as BT's published limits are set to guarantee a trouble free connection.
I have seen 2Mb sync at 57dB loss but it was a little unstable Sad
The extra loss should not have any effect on speed though as once the circuit has obtained sync then the data transfer rate should be good for that speed.
N/A

Should I be on 2mb?

Thought I'd jump on this thread to check what speed connection I *should* be able to get. My router says the following:

Line attenuation: 36db downstread, 20.5db upstream
Noise margin: 26db downstream, 30db upstream

Is line attenuation the same as line loss? Is noise margin the same as SNR? If so, then I believe my line should be good enough for a 2Mbps connection, or am I wrong?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Yes good for 2Mb and more.
You are correct in your interpretation of the meanings Cool
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Am I right in assuming the only way to reduce the line crap is to move nearer the exchange.

*Goes and pitches a tent outside the exchange*
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Also, results from my router are :-
HW Status : OK
SW Status : CONNECTED
Indication : GOOD
Noise Margin : +14 dB
Attenuation : +50 dB
Transmission Level: +12 dB
Bit Rate : 288kbps/ 2272kbps (Upstream/Downstream)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Should I be on 2mb?

Quote
Am I right in assuming the only way to reduce the line crap is to move nearer the exchange.


Basicaly yes Sad