cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I be able to get 2mb?

rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

I've had the free re-grade and according to BT my line will only support 1mb, but like lots of folk I wonder whether I could get 2mb?

Stats

Operation Data Upstream Downstream
Noise Margin 30 dB 31 dB
Output Power 12 dBm 20 dBm
Attenuation 21 dB 36 dB

and off Samknows using phone no & postcode

The following level of service is available at your location:

You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
You may be able to receive 1Mbps ADSL
You can receive 512Kbps ADSL
You can receive 256Kbps ADSL

You are approximately 2.44km from the exchange (straight line distance).
14 REPLIES
the_norris
Grafter
Posts: 463
Registered: 02-08-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Hi the important stats here are :

Noise Margin 31 dB Downstream,
Attenuation 36 dB Downstream.

Attenuation of 43 or less is needed for 2Mbps. Also the Noise Margin needs to be highter that 10dB for a stable connection.

So these stats look good. You can get these stats confirmed by ask Plusnet to do a whoose test.

If this cam back the same etc you should be able to get 2meg. The only issue may be that Plusnet may have to do a manual order as teh BT check says NO to 2meg.

Phil
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

It seems that your records may be wrong at BT, and in that case BT will believe the records rather than the facts and keep you on 1Mb.

In similar cases, an email to Mr Saffron at ADSL Guide giving him the BT record details and your actual figures has enabled him to get the BT records changed, after which they will then process the upgrade if you ask for it..

Why he has this power and Plusnet do not is one of life's mysteries, but I'd try that.
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Thanks - what's a whoosh test, and can I ask +net to do one via the ticket system by giving them the above stats?
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

A woosh test is a diagnostic test that Pn do to get those figures.
You can raise a ticket or ring them and ask to do one if you explain that you're trying to get on to 2Mb. Ask them to do the one that gives both Attenuation and Signal to Noise ratio.
N/A

Re: Should I be able to get 2mb?

Quote

Operation Data Upstream Downstream
Noise Margin 30 dB 31 dB
Output Power 12 dBm 20 dBm
Attenuation 21 dB 36 dB


Slightly off-topic here but how does one find out the above details. I am currently in the same boat, cant get 2Mb but a BT Engineer informed me that I am just out of range by a matter of yards. Although he didnt tell me what I could do to get the 2Mb heh
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Your modem or router may tell you - many routers do. Look in the instructions or look on google with the model number.

Or failing that Pn can do a woosh test as above.
N/A

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Hi,

I'm on 512k and am also trying to see if I can get an increased broadband speed.

The bt website says I can only get 512k,
Checking on the samknows site mentioned above it says:
You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
You cannot receive 1Mbps ADSL
You can receive 512Kbps ADSL
You can receive 256Kbps ADSL

If I put in the chippy which is about 150m from my house it says:
You may be able to receive 1Mbps ADSL

Do I take this as the definitive answer?

If not, does anyone know what the line stats for 1meg should be within so I can check my router when I get home?
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

The figures are all in this brilliant thread by John Essex. For 1Mb it's 60dB max.
Don't take the BT figure as gospel - it's often wrong, and attenuation/snr are what counts.
N/A

Should I be able to get 2mb?

cheers for that, i was about to come back and say I had found the answer by doing some more trawling through the forums:

seems to be less than 60 attenuation and greater than 10 SNR for 1 meg
N/A

Should I be able to get 2mb?

cool,

My stats are:

Attenuation: 50db
Noise margin : 21db

I should be able to get 1 meg!!
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Nice to hear it put that way rather than moaning cos you can't get 2Mb!! Tongue
N/A

Should I be able to get 2mb?

well, i would like 2 meg, but anything above 512 is good in my opinion! Cheesy
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Thanks everyone, records altered via whoosh & Mr Safron, I can now officially get 2mb speeds - fingers crossed! Cheesy
N/A

Should I be able to get 2mb?

Woohoo!

I asked plusnet to regrade me to 1 meg, it was rejected. I asked for a whoosh test so i can try and get the Bt db changed and now they have just regraded me to 1 meg.

I am well chuffed!