Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a router

Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 5

Setting up a router

Hi

Last night I studdenly lost access to the internet. It was fine one minute, then I was unable to access anything about 10 minutes later. I tried with 3 separate computers all connected with different cables to different ports on my switch. I still had sync, and the data light flashes when I attemp to do anything outside of my network. A friend of mine is with plusnet and is on the same exchange and his is fine, so I kinda ruled out problems with plusnet.

I started playing round with the router settings and have lost them all. So what I'm basically after is someone to tell me all the settings I'm likely to need to set the router up again, so I can look them up, while I'm still at work and can access the net, so I can attempt to re-set it up when I get home.

If that doesn't work I'm going to try my mates router over the weekend. If I do will I be able to connect with his login details, as he's a plusnet adsl user on the same exchange?

I've ordered an upgrade to a 1Mb line from my current 512 ADSL Home Self-Install, but that is not due until Tuesday 7th September, so I presume with the current high demand and queues for adsl that bt wouldn't have started doing anything with it yet.

If it proved not to be the router can anyone suggest anything else to try? I know to try it in the master socket if the extension doesn't work. The setup has been working fine since February. I moved the router to a different phone extension a couple of weeks ago and it worked fine there.

Oh yeah, and my router is a Nokia IP 55 if anyone has any experience of them.

Thanks

Phil
8 REPLIES
N/A

Setting up a router

These things do happen im afraid, I've had a few routers that for no reason seamed to cut out, some times it overheating sometimes its firmware without really knowing what make and model it is its hard to say.