cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a network of computers and network axis 2100 cam

N/A

So I'm new to networking, and I'm bored so ill babble on a bit...

I got a Netgear DM 602 modem/router a few months back it was a mystery to get working but made it with the help of John and Eurotrain6 and the visitor from force9 and anyone else who helped!

But back then 2 months ago I also got a Belkin 4 port cable/dsl gateway router so I could share my internet connection with more than one PC as the DM 602 only has one port... I know I should of bought a hub, but I didn't know anything back then about networking and I was sold this thingy, which I just installed the other day as I didn't have any cat5 cables until now.

Right, now the good part is I'm protected by my zonealarm pro firewall, then the DM602 nat, now I've added this, I have further protection as I'm now behind yet another firewall and gateway.

Its all complicated! I suppose if I wanted to just surf web pages it would be great, no hacker can get me so easily, even I cant access my own pc! lol.

Right.. so the DM602 gives me IP/gateway of 192.168.0.1
then this belkin dsl sharing device gives me another gateway of 192.168.2.1
and here comes the annoying part, it all works fine, apart I cant access anything outside the network, even if I port forward on both the DM602 and the Belkin gateway it makes no diff, they both have different IP numbers and its all complicated!.

I got an Axis 2100 network cam, wanted one for a few years, not just cause Plusnet have them Wink had to run a DOS window then type in the IP i wanted it on, 192.168.2.200 then the serial number which you make into a MAC address like 00-40-5c-88 etc........ that's not the real one btw! then you add the IP of the gateway, then -s or -sr and ping till nothing comes back...... then you connect the camera and bingo it finds its IP addy! nice.. even nicer if it worked outside a nework Sad