cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Routers and Operating systems.

Community Veteran

I work in a shop, part of a large electronics chain. One of the products we sell are routers, both wired and wireless.
As with any shop we try our best to avoid refunds.
I continously have customers being refered to me insisting that the router they purchased does not work with their operating system or they have a mac or whatever. Of course they all have a friend or cousin who is a computer engineer and has told them this, yeah right!
I would just like 100% confirmation that this is absolute rubbish as through my own experience I am 99.99% sure. As far as I am aware when the web based configuration is used and not any supplied discs and the router is connected either wirelessly or with an ethernet cable the operating system is not important. It is only a gateway. On my own network I am on my third brand of router (settled with Netgear)and I have, and have had Windows XP, 98, Vista for a short time, Fedora, a Playstation 3, a Dlink DSM 320 Media player and an Orange SPV M600 PDA and none of the above could care less about what router I was using. But yes I know that the customer is always right (apart from the 9 out of 10 times when they are wrong!)
4 REPLIES
p_w_d_stone
Grafter

When connected using standardised protocols like ethernet and wireless all routers should be compatible with all operating systems and hardware.

Routers are typically maintained using a web interface that should be compatible with all javascript enabled browsers.

What the "engineers" may mean is that the software disc that comes with many routers to ease configuration will not work on non Windows operating systems. The router is perfectly functional without using this though, provided you have the wit to read the instruction manual.
Community Veteran