cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems setting up ADSL500 connection

N/A

Im a new subscriber to the 500mb home connection and today took delivery of my adsl modem.

Now, im no novice (i used to have adsl in my old place over a router) but im totally confused here and could do with some help...

1) Modem is all installed ok, now, my ADSL line is not supposed to be activated until Thursday, however, the adsl light came on blinking, and now its on all the time, does this mean my line activation is complete?

2) I run the IE shortcut "Binatone ADSL500 USB Modem Login" the installation put on my desk top and can see how i configure my modem from here, however, im not sure of the setting for Protocol, I set it to PPPoA VC-Mux. When i test the connection with the diagnostic test, it fails at the stage Test PPPoPvc 0 PPP layer connection, but is this because my line isnt active yet?

Hopefully some of you can answer my questions and let me know where im going wrong..
thanks
Baj
10 REPLIES
N/A

PPPoA-VC Mux is the correct setting. I don't really know anything about the activation process, but I would assume that your line hasn't been activated yet as that setting is definitley correct.
N/A

Thanks,
well it all appears to be working now! i changed the connection type to the other pppoA type and it works fine.
So, it also seems wierd to me that i must connect to the internet now through my web browser, is there anyway of having some sort of "dialup" icon to connect through now i have configured the modem correctly?
N/A

I'm not sure about this particular modem but there should
be some sort of start up / dial up Icon.
Have a look on the start /all programs, folders list under Binatone
and see if it's there or look in the Binatone
program file folder
for something like 'dial up.exe' or a .exe file in the WAN drivers
section of which you can then copy to desktop.
N/A