cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

Hi All,

I've just received my hardware to connect to Plus Net for the first time and am having severe difficulty setting it up.

I've installed a Netgear FA311 PCI NIC in my PC.
I've connected the Netgear DG834G router to the microfilter which is conected to the ADSL enabled phone line.
I've connected the router to the FA311.
I plug in the router and lights flash reassuringly - the yellow tick turns to green, the wireless indicator turns green, the ADSL sign turns green, the number 1 turns green (although it flickers).

Whilst I'm trying to connect to the router via my browser, the mouse stops working, the pc hangs and then reboots. I've tried waiting to see if it's going to work without going into the browser and it still hangs and reboots.
It seems that if the router is connected to the network card, after a period of time it just hangs & reboots. Unfortunately, I only have the cable that came with the router otherwise I'd change it.

Cry I'm not a happy chappy.

Any ideas gratefully received.
Phill
11 REPLIES
N/A

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

The router is unlikely to have caused the reboot. What os are running.
OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

Win 98SE
N/A

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

Go to the msdos prompt, like you did when you pinged the router and type
Ipconfig/all and post the results. I think the reboot is caused by IE rather than a hardware problem. It's been a long time since I used win 98 so I am a bit rusty.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

- Try reinstalling the network card drivers dircetly from the disK/CD.

- Try putting the network card in a different PCI slot

What is your full PC spec: mobo, processor & speed, ram size, drives size and type including CD/DVD, other PCI cards and what size PSU (In Watts) do you have. It's possible installing the card has meant the PSU is now on the limit so may then trip and cause random reboots. A long shot but possible.
N/A

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

A quick way finding out all that from peter post is to goClick Start, click Run, type msinfo32.exe. It wont tell you about the power supply (psu)
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

One other possibility is an interrupt conflict or card compatibility issue.

One case I had, I could not get a NIC working with a soundblaster card - either would work on their own but when both fitted, the NIC did not work. Swaping the NIC with another PC (which had a different make) solved the problem and both PCs were fine afterwards. So it's possible that make/model of NIC does not like working with another PCI card or motherboard resource.

If you have other PCI cards fitted try removing them and just leave the NIC and see if it works.
OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

Hi Likely/Peter, thanks for the quick responses.

Likely:
I never had the chance to ping the router, the pc always rebooted before I did that.

Peter:
My pc is an AMD Athlon 1GHz
motherboard - can't remember!
1 DVD reader
1 CD Rewriter
1 40Gb HDD
nVidia GForce 2 graphics card
Netgear FA311 NIC
56K modem
300W power supply
3 spare PCI slots

Cheers
Phill
OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA (R) Audio Controller
5 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
10 SupraExpress 56i Pro V CC
10 SUP2760 PCI Modem Enumerator
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 NETGEAR FA311/FA312 PCI Adapter
11 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
11 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
11 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
11 NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 100/200
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
These are the interrupts. There does seem to be a lot using 11. I'll try the NIC in a different slot and see if it gives it a different interrupt.
Cheers
Phill
N/A

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

I think msinfo shows up card conflicts under dma I seem to remenber.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

You won't see it that obviously. Sometimes drivers don't like sharing interrupts. Moving PCI cards around can often rejig the interrupt assignments and get it working.

PSU looks ok for that spec. You could try removing the 56K modem card and see if it makes a difference (after moving the NIC around a bit). The PCI slot nearest the AGP card will normally share the AGP interrupt so don't use that one.
OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Problems installing DG834G to connect to PlusNet

Cheesy Well, it now works - but I don't really know why!

I tried moving the NIC to other PCI slots and it caused all sorts of trouble from the PC failing to boot, to Windows not loading the driver and ignoring the NIC. I finally removed the PCI modem and still had problems until I put the NIC back into the slot I'd first tried. I then powered up the router without it connected to the NIC expecting it to die when I did connect - but it didn't :?

I was then able to configure the router and after much buggering about because I can't read properly, managed to get connected.

Thanks for the help guys, much appreciated.
Phill