cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem connecting new computer

N/A

Problem connecting new computer

I've been running ME with Office 2000 and a Voyager 105 USB Modem with no problem. Built a new PC running XP and Office 2000 using the same modem.
On the new PC the modem connects ok but I can't see emails or websites. I've set up everything the same as the original machine but this one has several of us stumped. I must admit the motherborad and processor in the new PC are not new but came from a friend who assures me they worked OK for him.
We've worked our way through all the help guides and checked all the settings. Has anyone any ideas please ?

Thanks

Lorweb
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,207
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Problem connecting new computer

I did hit this before - what security program are you using - you might try disabling the it and see if it helps
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Problem connecting new computer

Or try right clicking on the internet explorer icon on your desktop then properties and select connections

Right at the top is the setup button run through this just to be sure your system is connecting properly



Bill.
N/A

Problem connecting new computer

Thanks for the suggestions. I've tried both to no avail.
I'm using zonealarm and have turned it off completly with no improvement.

thanks

Barry
Alphakk1
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Problem connecting new computer

Hmm thats weird before trying another browser, click start then run and type cmd you will get black screen at c:\ or something similiar.

Type "ping plus.net" whith out speech quotes then see if you get a reply from 212.159.8.137 which is one of plusnets IP adresses.

If you do get reply try it again with bbc.co.uk .

If none of the above works but it works on old comp with ME, then your XP tcp/ip file may be corrupt you have to run a command or search for the file to renew. Can't remember rightnow but if you ask the CSC team they wiill sort it for you.
N/A

Problem connecting new computer

I fits the tc ip stack thats gone then the tool to fix it is here
http://www.xp-smoker.com/freeware.html

If its the stack thats gone if from the command prompt you type ping 194.119.131.66 you may well see a strange none english letter. if you do see it its a sure sign thats the problem. Normally this problem is related to a malware program so check your pc.

If that doesnt fix it from the cmd prompt type ipconfig /all and post the results.

The other possibility is you have the network enabled and its trying to use that to connect instead of the dial up. try doing from the cmd prompt

tracert 194.119.131.66 and post the results
N/A

Problem connecting new computer

Thanks for you help.
As soon as I get back to the machine i'll try all the things suggested. What a pity work has to come first when there are more interesting things to be doing.
Thanks again and i'll let you know how I get on.
Regards
Barry
N/A

Problem connecting new computer

OK... Once we'd recovered from the earthquake and power was restored I tried all your suggestions.. But no further forward... so did the pings and tracert and here is the result. I hope it means more to you guys than it does to me.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 194.119.131.66

Pinging 194.119.131.66 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 194.119.131.66: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
Request timed out.
Reply from 194.119.131.66: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
Reply from 194.119.131.66: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 194.119.131.66:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 18ms, Maximum = 21ms, Average = 19ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert 194.119.131.66

Tracing route to cns1.uk.vianw.net [194.119.131.66]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 17 ms * 17 ms lo0.plusnet.thn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.101]
2 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms vl703.thn-gw1.plus.net [84.92.4.241]
3 17 ms * * vl23.pte-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.27]
4 16 ms 17 ms 18 ms ge-1-0-0-10-telee-peleg.router.clara.net [212.15
9.1.69]
5 19 ms 18 ms 20 ms g1-1-5.t40-cr1.router.uk.clara.net [195.8.86.149
]
6 19 ms 20 ms 21 ms ten2-0-0-t6-cr2.router.uk.clara.net [195.8.68.11
8]
7 * 20 ms 18 ms ten0-0-0-t6-cr1.router.uk.clara.net [195.157.7.5
4]
8 18 ms 18 ms 20 ms e-2-8-t6-dr1.router.uk.clara.net [195.157.6.190]

9 19 ms * 19 ms fa-0-0-t6-dr3.router.uk.clara.net [195.157.0.22]

10 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms cns1.uk.vianw.net [194.119.131.66]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

Regards Barry
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Problem connecting new computer

No problem there i can see and the one packet loss from the first ping is nothing to worry about

What security ie: firewall / antivirus are you using and is it installed/disabled or have you tried uninstalling it to see if you can connect at all

Can you do an ipconfig /all from the cmd and post the results
N/A

Problem connecting new computer

try tracert www.plus.net and ping www.plus.net ands see what happens.

You are connecting fine and the above proves it what we havent proved is if DNS is working if the above commands fail then its a dns problem.

try setting your dns to
* 208.67.222.222
* 208.67.220.220