cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone noise

N/A

Phone noise

Hi

I'm fairly new to broadband at home, and having insalled my PCI modem a week ago I have a problem with noise on the phone while the computer is off.

My BT connection is via a two-port extension box. The phone and fax are plugged into a filter on one side and the ADSL is plugged straight into the box on the other. While the PC is on the phone line is fine, but as soon as the PC is switched off the noise on the line arrives. The noise stops when the ADSL cable is unplugged from the box.

A friend who is also on PlusNet has suggested it's likely that the ADSL signal voltage is lower with the PC on because the modem is drawing a current that would cause it to drop, and rising when the PC is switched off, causing the interference. Can anyone suggest how I can solve this problem? Any help is grateful appreciated.

Best wishes
Peter
15 REPLIES
N/A

Phone noise

Your modem may not require a filter, check with supplier or supplied documentation.
N/A

Re: Phone noise

A friend who is also on PlusNet has suggested it's likely that the ADSL signal voltage is lower with the PC on because the modem is drawing a current that would cause it to drop, and rising when the PC is switched off, causing the interference.

The modem draws no power off the DSL signal. In fact there has to be power isolation between the PC and the DSL line to avoid the voltages present within a PC getting into the phone system.

You should have the modem plugged into the correct RJ11 socket on the filter and not separately into the wall socket, this will balance the impedance.
I have to ask the question, how did you manage to plug the modem directly into a BT socket ??, you must have used an old 56K dial-up modem cable, these can be wired incorrectly for specific DSL modems with regard to earth paths.
N/A

Re: phone noise

I have tried the connection with no filters at all and it doesn't help.