cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PPPoE / PPPoa

N/A

PPPoE / PPPoa

i have recently been trying to set up a wireless router and modem, with no joy.
i am very new to the networking and router configuration side of things so please, anyone replying to this message please be gengtle.
the modem is a d-link dsl300t, and the router is my brothers draytek 2200w.
i have been doing some research and attempting to learn all i can, from tis and other forums. however, one thing that i believe may be the problem, is that the router does not have the facility for PPPoA. it was origanally being used with no problems on a cable system. from what i have read and tried to understand, is that PPPoE will not work over an ADSL system. is this the case or am i barking up the wrong tree, and that PPPoE will work perfectly OK.
if the answer is that PPPoE will not function, i will stop fiddling with this router and buy an all in one draytek 2600G.
Many thanks in advance for your replies.
Ian
13 REPLIES
N/A

PPPoE / PPPoa

First PPoE is just another form of DSL, which isn't used in the UK.

First I would make sure the modem works, hook that upto your computer directly and make sure you can connect to the internet fine etc. Once you know thats working fine, hook it upto the router and go from there. If the router is standalone (ie doesn't have integrated ADSL modem) it should work fine. You might just need to change some settings on the router or possibly give it a hard reset.
N/A

PPPoE / PPPoa

Ignore this post if you've already read it.. Google throwed up the wrong hardware Evil - I'm having a look at the hardware you've got tho right now..
N/A

PPPoE / PPPoa

Lol 3rd time lucky Wink

Right..

First, connect the Modem up. Plug in the phone line and connect an ethernet cable into the modem and your PC.. The ports should be clearly labelled.

Next, read this guide to setup your internet connection with the D-Link modem.