cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not Sure What I Need !!

N/A

Not Sure What I Need !!

I am new to this game and have only just joined up with plusnet. My original plan was to go wi-fi and to that end have bought a smc wireless router with print server (SMC2804WBRP) plus the bits for my laptop. Of course I didnt read the small print and now realise it isn't a modem as well. The modem supplied by plusnet only has a USB connection and the router only accepts ethernet connections. Is there any way I can get some sort of adaptor or am I going to have to get another modem, if so does anyone have any recommendations.
Thanks very much and sorry for being such a dullard! Shockedops:
7 REPLIES
N/A

Not Sure What I Need !!

found this m8 may help at scan

Dlink DU-E-100 USB to Ethernet 10/100 Adaptor £9.34 Inc VAT
michaelscott
Grafter

Not Sure What I Need !!

That's to add a network interface to a computer with USB, not add a USB interface to a network. A USB modem needs drivers to work and you can't install drivers on a WAP.
Community Veteran

Not Sure What I Need !!

You could buy a 1 port Ethernet router and plug it into the one you have. You can also buy an external ADSL Ethernet modem but they tend to be expensive.

Failing that get an all in one modem/router/wireless/switch like the Netgear DG834G and sell your SMC router on ebay.
N/A

Not Sure What I Need !!

Here is a DSL to ethernet modem.
As Peter says, they are rare and not cheap.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=89400
Community Veteran

Not Sure What I Need !!

Or this 1 port modem/router: Ebuyer 1 Port Ethernet ADSL Modem Router - buyer ASR 8000.

It is a bit more complex to setup (because there are 2 routers involved) but is a much cheaper solution - I have used this model recently to replace a cable modem which plugged into an existing Linksys 4 port router.
N/A

Not Sure What I Need !!