cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Plus.net ADSL

N/A

New to Plus.net ADSL

Im new to broadband. At the moment im waiting for my modem to arrive (friday, cant wait). I just want a few answers if anyone can help me. How long does it take to connect to the internet, will i get any call charges and what speed will i normally connect.
9 REPLIES
N/A

New to Plus.net ADSL

Broadband is classed as "allways on".

This means you can be connected for as long or as short a time as you wish, wihtout incuring any further fees or connection costs.

ADSL is not like a normal modem, it doesn't need to dial a number for it to operate. It works on a frequency range the human ear can't hear, thus, both the voice and ADSL lines can operate via the same wires.

The benefit of this, you can have both ADSL on and in use, while making a phone call, and you wouldn't know the differance.

Depending on how long it takes you to get the modem setup and working, you can be connected in less than 10 mins.

If you purchased a router: Once connected you should be able to request any site at any time and have it instantly.

If you chose PCI or USB: On the first attempt to get a site, it may take between 10 to 30 seconds while it syncs and authenticates, btu people have seen much smaller times.

As for speeds. This will generaly be between 55 - 60 KB/second. This is around 10 times faster than your standard 56kbit modem.

You mjay wish to use the +Net or ADSLGuide speed checkers to see how fast your connection is. You may also attempt to download a file, then you will feal the power.
N/A

New to Plus.net ADSL

1) The first time you connect to the internet it may take a short time extrac compared to normal times. Otherwise, the adsl is always on, the connection is permanent (unless you switch off your modem or router).

2) There are no call charges at all.

3) You usually get about 60kb/s download and 30kb/s upload on 512k. Line quality, etc. depending.