cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

davec25
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 26-06-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

Anyone know of a way to find out from this router (DG834G v3) whether interleaving is on or off?

David.
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

Yep, there is a way, not the most user friendly, but there is a way. Take a look at:

http://ccgi.kitz.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=48.msg456
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,810
Thanks: 639
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

Hi David,

Try this:-

Quote
You have to go round the houses a bit to get the information, but it's not too difficult.

First logon to the router and then select this address:

http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

which should result in a screen which just says 'Debug enable'.
(That's assuming that you haven't changed the router's IP address from the default).

Then exit from the web interface and open a command-line window. Type:

telnet 192.168.0.1

You should get a BusyBox welcome message to confirm that your telnet connection is established.

Now type:

cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats

This will give you a stream of information about the ADSL connection. Scroll up and find a section something like this:

[Upstream (TX) Interleave path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 1
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Downstream (RX) Interleave path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Upstream (TX) Fast path]
CRC: 1 FEC: 68 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Downstream (RX) Fast path]
CRC: 49 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

In this example the interleave figures are all zero, apart from the first NCD value, which always seems to be 1, so this router is in fast mode. If you see zeros in the fast path sections and other figures in the interleave sections, then interleave is on.


This was taken directly from another poster on Kitz' site here.

Kind Rgds,

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

davec25
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 26-06-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

Many thanks to you both for this...thought I'd searched everywhere for this on the net! My router gives...
Quote

[Upstream (TX) Interleave path]
CRC: 2 FEC: 68 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 68

[Downstream (RX) Interleave path]
CRC: 9 FEC: 8462 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Upstream (TX) Fast path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 1
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Downstream (RX) Fast path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0


...which I *think* means interleaving is off.

Cheers,
David.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

The entries with all zeroes is the one that it isn't, (or the ones with the numbers is the one it is). As fast path has the zeroes, this means the line has interleaving switched on.
m063
Grafter
Posts: 166
Registered: 11-08-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

You might also want to try this useful application:
http://www.vwlowen.co.uk/internet/files.htm
I've used it with a DG834 V2 but it is said to work with V3 also.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

Very useful, not seen that before.
N/A

Netgear 834G & Interleaving

Yes cheers, churchvilla, very useful indeed...

By the way - note to the casual user with a Netgear DG834/DG834G router: you need to select an option within the configuration window (top-left button) under the "Netgear Telnet" tab to Enable Telnet. This will add an additional tab to the main window which gives you a friendly way to get the hidden stats. I must admit that I either didn't notice it or twig what it was for the last time I tried it out! :lol: