cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear 834DG

N/A

Netgear 834DG

Hi,
After some advice on how to set up my Netgear 834dg as I am not a computer expert. I did have the netgear 834dg working but had to rebuild my PC due to a virus. Since the rebuild it hasn't worked - Rebuilt to XP.

I think the issue is that under the control panel/networks/the Lan network card looks like it is a standard one. From reading the documentation it should say Netgear 834dg? I am unsure how to get the correct driver on the onboard network card so it will pick up the negear 834dg. Anyway I think that's what my issue is as all the lights are ok on the netgear apart from the test light doesn't go on. I am guessing it is this is the issue. Any advice/help appreciated. Thanks.
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Netgear 834DG

Your network card should have no reference to DG834 as the router is a completely independant and separate device from your PC. Rebuilding your PC will not have changed anything in the Netgear router.

What your PC should be setup to is to obtain it's IP address automatically. The router wioll then assign the PC an IP address so it can access the internet.

DO you have a 'My Network Places' icon on your desktop. If so, right click on it and select properties o show the network connections window. If you don't have a my network places icon, click start -> control panel and click the Network Connections icon.

On that window you should have an icon for your network card. If you click it once, what do you see under the dtails section bottom left? Does it show an IP address like 192.168.0.X where X could be 1 -> 253. If not do the following:

Right click the network icon and select properties
In the 2nd window find the TCP/IP entry, select it and click properties
Make sure obtain IP address automatically is set. If not set it and click OK