cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help configuring Origo router to run under linux

N/A

Hi,

I am new to the world of ADSL using routers etc and have just been connected to PlusNet and have a Origo 1 port router which I want to use purely to connect to the internet and let my linux box act as the router and firewall. Can anyone assist on how I would go about setting it up? prior to getting broadband via adsl I had cable and it was as simple as plugging the cable modem in to my 2nd NIC (eth1) and setting eth1 as being dhcp, the cable modem then passed the ISP assigned IP address transparently to the NIC. I am not sure on how to do this with the router, can it even do this?

Any help appreciated

Cheers

Bryano
9 REPLIES
N/A

Its very simliar to how you have it set up.

You connect it to your 2 nic and most routers will have dhcp, you will then have to log into your router and setup your details. Were the problem may arise is having to nics as the dhcp off the router may be in the same range as the other nic.

You can normaly change the lan ip of the router. This is were the diffrence is as with a modem the first nic will have a ip in the range 212.0.0.0.0 but with the router it will be 10.0.0.0 or 192.0.0.0 range so all your routing on th elinux box will go up the spout
N/A

eth0 is the internal lan card and is on 192.x.x.x range and eth1 is the one i want to connect to the router. I see on the router that it has an option to dish out dhcp addresses however will this not just assign a 10.x.x.x or whatever range i put in there instead of passing the static ip assigned to me by PlusNet to eth1 ??

On my old cable set up eth1 always showed my isp assigned ip address.

All help appreicated.

Bryano
Community Veteran

On my old cable set up eth1 always showed my isp assigned ip address.