cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

N/A

:deadhead:
Sorry a girl has entered the forum, however I am new to this. Just set up my DYNAMODE A360 Modem and set evrything up. Connection seems fast below are my test results is this good?

Direction Actual Speed True Speed (estimated)

Downstream 470 Kbps (58.8 KB/sec) 507 Kbps (inc. overheads)
Upstream 244 Kbps (30.5 KB/sec) 263 Kbps (inc. overheads)

ALSO....

When I turn my computer off (as its a bit loud in my room to be left on 24/70 I have to click on the shortcut to Wip Tech and click dial before I have internet access. Am I doing something wrong, or everytime I turn computer off do I have to go through the above process?

SORRY FOR SUCH A LONG QUESTION BUT I AM NEW TO THIS.
THANKS
10 REPLIES
N/A

RE: NEWBIE

--snip--

> Direction Actual Speed True Speed (estimated)
>
> Downstream 470 Kbps (58.8 KB/sec) 507 Kbps (inc. overheads)
> Upstream 244 Kbps (30.5 KB/sec) 263 Kbps (inc. overheads)
Seems pretty good to me, assuming of course you just the bog standard 500kbps account Smiley

> ALSO....
>
> When I turn my computer off (as its a bit loud in my room to be left on 24/70 I have to click on the shortcut to Wip Tech and click dial before I have internet access. Am I doing something wrong, or everytime I turn computer off do I have to go through the above process?

Yeah you need to do this every time, that establishes whats called a PPP connection to Plusnet (Point-to-Point Protocol) and sends them your username and password etc...

> THANKS
no worries

--
N/A

Your speeds look normal. Since you are on a modem the connection will drop when you shutdown and you will have to connect when you startup afaik.

You should be able to set the modem up to dial on demand.
N/A

> --snip--
>
> > Direction Actual Speed True Speed (estimated)
> >
> > Downstream 470 Kbps (58.8 KB/sec) 507 Kbps (inc. overheads)
> > Upstream 244 Kbps (30.5 KB/sec) 263 Kbps (inc. overheads)