cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem telling fibs

dekker
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 17-08-2007

Modem telling fibs

Can anyone tell me why my modem reports my connection speed as 576.0kps
when the speed test tells me my 1meg regrade has apparently been applied.
How can i rectify this?
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Modem telling fibs

What ADSL modem are you using?

Are you running the lastest drivers for it?

Does it have any diagnostics which can tell you the physical connection speeds?
dekker
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 17-08-2007

Modem telling fibs

Modem is Dynamode A360 external USB.
Supplied by Plusnet.
Drivers are up to date.
Running WinXP home sr1.
In "Device Manager" it does not appear under Modems but is shown in Network Connections as A360 (Native ATM Mode).
N/A

Re: Modem telling fibs

Quote
Can anyone tell me why my modem reports my connection speed as 576.0kps
when the speed test tells me my 1meg regrade has apparently been applied.
How can i rectify this?

No, it is not "telling fibs"as you put it.
I have the same modem and it always shows connection speed as 576.0Kps.
IF you have a 512 connection then it should show as that, if you have an active 1Mb connection then it should show as 1Mb.
So something is up if you have an active 1Mb account.
dekker
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 17-08-2007

Modem telling fibs

Yep i definitely have a 1Meg connection, last speed test = 955

Yep something is definitley "up" Smiley
N/A

Modem telling fibs

It could be a bug in the driver software, try uninstalling it and re-installing it.
It does seem a little strange, but unless it affects your connection in anyway I wouldn't be overly worried.
N/A

Modem telling fibs

i just have the 512 connection and a lot of times after I uninstall anything of defrag then when I reboot it says my connection speed is 1Mb and downloading/surfing is twice as fast..................
N/A

Modem telling fibs

I have the same modem and im on 1mb and it connects at 1.1mb Cheesy
painswck
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 30-07-2007

Modem telling fibs

576 is the line speed for a 512 connection. Nothing wrong with your driver software. most modems/routers will report this. In the same way they will normally report 288 in the other direction.

Roland
dekker
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 17-08-2007

Modem telling fibs

Thanks everyone for your replies, my connection is fine and dandy, no problems.

Its just that I had been clicking on the systray connection icon and seeing 576 and grumbling at the delay in my upgrade, when for several days I had in fact been upgraded to 1Meg.

Not having done any downloading I hadn't noticed the difference. :roll:
dekker
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 17-08-2007

Modem telling fibs

Totally sorted now,reinstalled driver as suggested by Gadgetboy, modem now says 1.1Bps.
Thanks a lot. Cheesy