cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem or Router

taywood
Grafter

Modem or Router

When I switched to Broadband I bought the Binatone ADSL500 Modem from PlusNet and found it simple to use.
Does the team think it would help to improve my connection and download speed if I were to buy a single user Router and is setting up a router more difficult than setting up a plug and play modem?
I dont have a specific problem but like so many users I'm not getting what I think is a reasonable percentage of the 8Mbs I'm paying for and I'm looking for ways to improve this.

Mike
(PAYG 10Gb special offer)
11 REPLIES
lingbob
Grafter

Modem or Router

I have no experience with the Binatone but I've tried a BT Voyager 105 USB modem and a Netgear DG834 router with MaxDSL. Download speeds (throughput) are virtually identical with both but the Netgear router is definitely better as far as line stability is concerned. The Netgear will hold sync for weeks on end but the Voyager 105 re-syncs up and down like a yo-yo.

What sort of download speeds are you getting?
Pheasantplucker
Grafter

Modem or Router

I also have the Binatone adsl 500 usb modem, and like you i'm not getting very high download speeds. Mostly they are around 3 to 3.5 mb but occasionally I do manage the greatest speed of 4mb. I'll watch this thread with interst as i have been thinking along the same lines as you.
PS Plus net reckon that this speed is the best that i should expect even though my line syncs at 8124 and has never dropped one connection........so i reckon I should bet more..............but what do i knowHuh?Huh
Community Veteran

Modem or Router

Buying a router is not a guarantee of higher download speeds.

My Voyager 105 sync'd at 8128 and I got 4000kbps at most, but usually 2000-3000kbps; now my beautiful new router syncs at 8128 and I get ... yep, you guessed.