cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem Or Router - Info Neded

N/A

Modem Or Router - Info Neded

Hi All,

I have just signed up to PNs wires only ADSL, the only thing left to do (Appart from waiting 10 days) is to buy a modem or router. Some help on this one would be appreciated.

System Spec:
Athlon 2000 XP,
192 Mb Ram,
Geforce 2 Graphics,
CD Writer
DVD

The Machine will be used mainly for

1 Playing Games (Quake 3 etc..)
2 Downloading Music/Video.
3 Testing Server Apps (I'm a Programmer)

I have been reading the other posts so please don't turn this into 'Don't bother with gaming 'cause the connection is crap' because if I find that out for myself, I will just go somewhere else (I signed up monthly).

Thanks in advance

Bill
13 REPLIES
N/A

RE: Modem Or Router - Info Neded

I'd suggest going with a router. AFAIK, they offer slightly better latency/speeds and are more reliable. This is because USB modems rely more on the CPU, which slows things a bit, aswell as making problems more likely. Routers dont cost that much more either.
N/A

I would go with a router as well as it gives you a NAT firewall and gives you the chance to expand in the future.

>
>
> Hi All,
>
> I have just signed up to PNs wires only ADSL, the only thing left to do (Appart from waiting 10 days) is to buy a modem or router. Some help on this one would be appreciated.
>
> System Spec:
> Athlon 2000 XP,
> 192 Mb Ram,
> Geforce 2 Graphics,
> CD Writer
> DVD
>
> The Machine will be used mainly for
>
> 1 Playing Games (Quake 3 etc..)
> 2 Downloading Music/Video.
> 3 Testing Server Apps (I'm a Programmer)
>
>
> I have been reading the other posts so please don't turn this into 'Don't bother with gaming 'cause the connection is crap' because if I find that out for myself, I will just go somewhere else (I signed up monthly).
>
> Thanks in advance
>
> Bill

N/A

RE: Modem Or Router - Info Needed