cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MaxDSL speeds and stats comparison, anyone?

N/A

To compare, I'd be interested in anyone else who is a similar distance from their exchange and what stats and gear they are using..

Distance as the crow flies:- 1.7 km
Sync rate was 3424 off-peak, 3148 peak,
now 3232 off-peak, 3124 peak.
SNR was 5.8 off-peak, now 6.8. Was 4.8 off-peak, now 6.5.
Attenuation 60 to 63 dB (that hasn't changed).

I have a BT-installed master socket, installed specifically for ADSL (changed from ISDN), high-grade microfilters and the Binatone ADSL 500 USB modem provided when I joined +.
I can't disconnect my etension line for the phone because BT hard-wired it when they installed the ADSL master socket. I did try removing what kit I could, but that made no difference, and I don't want to pay out on a router that could give me worse stats and d/l speed than now. I do have a Netgear FS108 switch, but that's for an ethernet network, not ADSL. I'd need to buy an ADSL modem-router to plug into it if I did away with the USB.

I want to get some idea on if it is worth buying new kit. What I really need is to get the line attenuation down and don't see how I can do that without BT reoplacing the main copper wire, or t least the wire to my house from the main cable.
But, I got ISDN because my line was of such poor quality that ADSL was impossible and dial-up rarely went above 33kbs. I got new phone numbers, different part of the exchange, and suddenly modem speeds moved up and ADSL was possible. My line attenuation had dropped by at least 20 then.

There's a switchbox about 300 metres away max. But no way will BT do an expensive upgrade when I'm above 2mb/s anyway.

When I was firt maxed I was set on a stable rate of 2000, as CS has pointed out to me. I don't know how that got that figure because even the electricity to my house was switchd off, and my modem unplugged. I was on holiday!