cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mac and Netgear DG 814

Word_Warrior
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: 30-07-2007

Mac and Netgear DG 814

Has anyone been successful in setting up an AppleMac with OS X 10.2.6 as a web server with the built in Apache software using a Netgear DG814 DSL Router?
I've followed all the instructions in both the pdf manual for v 4.8 and David Pogues excellent OS X "Missing Manual" Can someone lead this poor gibbering wreck by the hand so that I can use the mac as a website pleeeeze :?: Cry
Andy
5 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Mac and Netgear DG 814

Hi,

I've configured Apache on Mac OS X, but not with that particular router (I use the EN5861).

I found this site particularly useful in setting up Apache.

http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2001/12/07/apache.html

Once Apache's configured and working it's a simple case of using Port Forwarding to forward port 80 to the IP address of the Mac.

ADSLGuide has a review of this router and some screenshots on setting up port forwarding at

http://www.adslguide.org.uk/hardware/reviews/2002/q4/netgear-dg814.asp
N/A

Mac and Netgear DG 814

All that is needed it to forward port 80 to the internal ip of your webserver this is done on the router very easy.

I assume you are using NAT so if your internal webserver is 10.0.0.1 just forward to that ip. What is often dificult is you cant see it from inside the network as it sees it as a internal ip so you have to dial up or get some else to see if its up
Word_Warrior
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: 30-07-2007

mac server

Thanks for the help guys, I seem to have the port forwarding correct but still no joy. M wright's suggestion that it's invisible from within might be the case, will check it out ASAP. Will let you know later, probably next week now.
Andy
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Mac and Netgear DG 814

Hi,

I've just checked your connection from here and I can see the Apache Test Page. It looks like it's working fine and as mwright said you just can't see the pages internally.
Word_Warrior
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: 30-07-2007

Mac server

Thanks for all your help folks, much appreciated. e mailed my IP address to one or two family members to get there responses ahead of creating a pucker site. (new test page is in place now instead of the Apache test page) Then the next project will be for my other site getting it's own server, currently at http://www.bromsgroveRFC.co.uk hosted by plus net of course.

Thanks once again.
Andy Cheesy
Freeserve!? Who are they? Tongue