cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux & Netgear DG834 router setup

N/A

I would like to set up my Netgear DG834 router to connect to the PlusNet broadband from a laptop using Linux Redhat 9.

If anyone can take me step by step through such a setup, it will be much appreciated.

I am a Linux Newbie, so please keep it as straightforward as possible (if possible using a GUI)

Many thanks Smiley
42 REPLIES
N/A

Have you configured your router? If so, I don't think there isn't really much more configuring you need to do.

I don't much about linux, but once my router was up, my linux box (in progress) was connected and I was able to use the browser with no issues.

Aaron
N/A

I suggest you download the latest version of red hat first (fedora core 2 at present) as red hat 9.0 is no longer supported and you cant get updates for it anymore I think.

Then its just simply a case of going through the red hat install program. Just select DHCP when doing your network configuration, and that will dish out the right IP, DNS servers etc etc.

The install program is very self explanatory but there are many steps too many to walk you thru, but like I said its fairly simple to install, and in many ways is actually easier to install than windows.
N/A

I have configured and am using the router in Windows, but when I tried to do it under Redhat 9 L inux on the same computer I have no success.

I tried setting it up according to a set of instructions that I found on the following url
www.geocities.com/imdeemvp/dsl.html

Obviously there is something I must be missing. I am able to access the Internet alright under Redhat using a dial up modem.
N/A