cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line stats & SNR - How?

octafish
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: 24-05-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Below are the figures for my modem (D-Link 300T). I don't see SNR anywhere, unless I'm being very dim.

Can anyone please advise as to how I get my SNR from theses figures? How near to 8Mb am I likely to get?......

Ta.

Steve

Modem Status
Connection Status Connected
Upstream Rate (Kbps) 288
Downstream Rate (Kbps) 2272
US Margin 28
DS Margin 31
Modulation GDMT
LOS Errors 0
DS Line Attenuation 15
US Line Attenuation 16
Path Mode Fast Path

DSL Statistics
Near End F4 Loop Back Count 0
Near End F5 Loop Back Count 0
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,653
Registered: 13-06-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Unless I'm mistaken then your SNR is your DS Margin, going by those figures you should get a speed of 8mb or close to it
octafish
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: 24-05-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Thanks. I see, that seems to make sense.

I've checked on http://212.23.23.177/calc.asp and indeed that gives me a theoretical 8192kbps.

Wait and see I suppose.

If I want to recheck the modem stats do I need to switch it off and on again or will it update dynamically?

Steve
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,653
Registered: 13-06-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

it should update dynamically, however having never used that router i can't really comment, but all the routers i have used in the past do indded update dynamically
octafish
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: 24-05-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Thanks again.

I put in a new ADSL filter (XF-1e) and it left the downspeed SNR at 31 but boosted the upspeed one from 28 to 30.

Is 31 'good-ish' for SNR or should I try and get better somehow.

Steve
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

31 is VERY good. No need to try and get it any higher.
octafish
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: 24-05-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Thanks Peter. I'm now looking forward to the increase with a little less anxiety..... but the proof of the pudding etc etc

Steve
jagger
Grafter
Posts: 411
Registered: 25-06-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Downstream line attenuation looks good too.A figure of 15 is yards from the exchange,not miles.

Must be the best phone line in the country.Lucky thing you. Cheesy
chymorva
Grafter
Posts: 275
Registered: 29-08-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Quote
Must be the best phone line in the country.Lucky thing you. Cheesy


Maybe not Wink

Mine are:
Downstream: SNR 35, Attn 9.9
Upstream: SNR 30, Attn 6.5

Cheesy Cheesy
octafish
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: 24-05-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

Quote
Must be the best phone line in the country


Would be nice to think so.

I'm about 1/3 mile from the exchange but my modem/router sits at the end of no less than 3 separate extension cables...... I have to say that my speeds are always between 1840 and 1940 kbps (2MB line).

Steve
N/A

Line stats & SNR - How?

Definately get a wireless router and put it right next to the main phone socket. Smiley

Where did you get your ADSL filters from and which brand? I'm looking to improve my SNR from 22ish
octafish
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: 24-05-2007

Line stats & SNR - How?

carlgm

Go to http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?ProductID=1652
for the adsl nation XF-1e.

Steve