cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this download speed really acceptable?

Pheasantplucker
Grafter

SNR margin downstream 15 upstrean 29
Line attenuation 25 downstrean. 16db upstream
Errored seconds 29
Loss of signal 0 0
loss of frame 0 0
CRC errors 45 downstream 0 upstream
Data rate 8128db downstream 448 db upstream
Latency fast
It would seem that unlike a lot of people i seem to have a very good line capable of the full 8mb.
So why am I only getting speed test results of between 3.5 and 4mb??
Raised a ticket and have been told that this is all i should expect from my line.
Doesn't this make a mockery of Max dsl.
As a complete beginner and having no real understanding of all this stuff is there anyone out there who can either confirm that this IS the best speed that i can expect or should i be raising hell with the guys at support and demanding that something more should be done
4 REPLIES
N/A

I think it may just be the nature of the beast: here are my figures

Downstream Rate : 8128 Kbps
Upstream Rate : 832 Kbps
Downstream Margin : 9 db
Upstream Margin : 13 db
Downstream Line Attenuation : 13
Upstream Line Attenuation : 8
Downstream Transmit Power : 0
Upstream Transmit Power : 0

But as I have said in another chat a 0400hrs in the morning I can can get as high as 6474.2 but come peak period it is a different story when I can drop as low as 3318.8 at 1713hrs so mine are all over the place and I could get quite neurotic worrying about it...... so I don't :-)
Pheasantplucker
Grafter

BT speed test at 3am (god awful time to be playing with your computer) I can reach nearly 5mb but i really don't want to be up all night just to get a half respectable speed.
I suppose i'll just have to wait and see the outcome when all these dificulties are over. At least i'm a whole load better off that some of the people on here.
Maybe it would be a really good idea if PN were to make an HONEST STATEMENT about the inherant problems of max dsl
craiglay