cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my router dead?

N/A

Is my router dead?

I came back from a weekend away to discover I couldn't connect to the internet Sad - after the initial panic and cold sweats I switched the router off, then back on - which normally fixes any connection problems.

Sadly this time it didn't work, so I checked the obvious connections, tried a different microfilter, different cable, checked all the IP settings (static) were correct but to no avail.

The odd thing is that the router says it has an ADSL connection (ie the light stays on permanently) but when you switch it on and off, the ADSL and Link lights come on immediately and stay on. In the past when switching the router on the ADSL light flashes for a few seconds, presumably while it connects with plusNet.

Next I decided to check the router settings, but I can't access the router via a web browser or ping it - every other PC on the network pings OK.

Does this mean my router needs replacing, or could a virus or something have changed it's IP address, or something elseHuh

Any suggestions greatfully received - I'm posting this at work (as obviously I can't at home!) and when I am at home I dont fancy spending 45 mins waiting on the phone to talk to plusNet support.


Will
12 REPLIES
JonathanW
Grafter
Posts: 2,648
Registered: 02-10-2007

Is my router dead?

Hi,

I'd suggest trying a factory reset on the router, as its possible that something's happened to the internal software and caused it to lock up, this can occasionally persist past a reboot. Though after doing this you will have to reconfigure your router, so make sure you have all of the settings that you'll need first.
N/A

Is my router dead?

Thanks for your reply.

How do I do a factory reset? - It's a plusNet supplied Solwise SAR 130 ADSL Router.

There didn't seem to be anything other than the on/off switch on it!


Will
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Is my router dead?

Does this thread help?
N/A

Is my router dead?

I'll try it tonight - but I dont recall a serial to rj45 cable being supplied with the router, which could make connecting to it rather difficult.


Will
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Is my router dead?

There was one in the box when mine came and I spent ages trying to find out what to do with it before I discovered I didn't need it unless the router went dead on me.
No idea what happened to it though - perhaps I'd better start searching just in case.
N/A

Is my router dead?

Quote
I'll try it tonight - but I dont recall a serial to rj45 cable being supplied with the router, which could make connecting to it rather difficult.


Should be serial to serial (similar to SAR110)
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Is my router dead?

Quote
[

Should be serial to serial (similar to SAR110)


No, there's no serial hole on the back of the router. The cable was definitely serial one end and something squarish on the other.
N/A

Is my router dead?

Well, I found the serial to RJ45 connector and connected to the router using hyperterminal as per the instructions.

Sadly the router wouldn't accept any commands from me, when booted up it gave the message below which ends, ominously, with the line "Fatal error occured, system halted" - typing any commands after this returns the message "NO" (insert Little Britain sound clip here).

A call to plusNet support revealed that I knew more about my router than they did (which is saying something) - they suggested a factory reset, but couldn't tell me how - even though they supplied the router!

So, unless any of you have any bright ideas I'm off to buy a new router today!

Will


Router boot up sequence follows>>>>>>>>


Starting POST - V2.0
SDRAM ... Passed
Loader Checksum ... Passed
Loader (V2.0) Self-Extracting ... Done
Decompressing UMON (V1.6) ... Done/Activated
Flash AT45DB161 (Capacity=2112K, PageSize=528, TotalPages=4096)
Testing FILESYS Checksum ... Passed
Testing DSLCODE Checksum ... Passed
Testing APPCODE Checksum ... Passed
Decompressing "TEAppl.gsz" (1092478->309504Cool ... Done

Text Segment Size = 2846048 bytes
Data Segment Size = 249000 bytes
Bss Segment Size = 1935904 bytes
System Stack Size = 16536 bytes
HISR Stack Size = 16536 bytes
NetBuffer Pool Size= 710512 bytes
System Memory Size = 752840 bytes
Start of DSPText = 207aa8d0 bytes
Decompressing "TEMod.gsz" (169453->409400) ... Done
Decompressing "TEDSL.gsz" (72727->163376) ... Done

File System Memory Size = 1101824 bytes
UnTar File System .....\..\.\..\..\..\.\........................\..........\....
..\..\..........\...................................................\.......\...
....................\\\.\..\..\.\.\.\... Done

Config size = 94, DHCP size
Normal Execution Mode

CfgInit: System Coming up from Last Configuration
Exception 0x29: "Data Access Error Exception" at 0x202AA4C4

Instructions dump:
202AA4B8: 30000000
202AA4BC: 00000000
202AA4C0: 2E000000
->202AA4C4: 9DE3BCE8
202AA4C8: 400012AE

Registers dump:
PC=202AA4C4 nPC=202AA4C8 PSR=934040C2 WIM=00000002
TBR=20000000 TT=00000029 Y=00000000 IER=00002000 FSR=00000008
G0=00000000 G1=2034EA08 G2=2036F054 G3=2036F2F8
G4=930040E2 G5=20492790 G6=20492800 G7=00000000
O0=204C1B88 O1=98E13850 O2=2020C870 O3=2036F024
O4=2036F764 O5=204C1B88 O6=2036EEB0 O7=202AA43C
I0=204C1B88 I1=2036F7F0 I2=00000000 I3=00000000
I4=2036F76C I5=2036FA64 I6=2036F628 I7=20215C18

Fatal error occured, system halted ...
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

Is my router dead?

Sounds a little bit fatal to me too.

The solwise forum has this advice on how to reset the router from dead, which may or may not work: It was given for a 110, but they're supposed to be similar.

So you will have to try re-loading the firmware via TFTP. Here's how:

1. Download the latest firmware (www.solwise.co.uk/downloads)
2. On the start menu, click RUN
3. Type cmd and press ok
4. In the DOS window that appears navigate to the folder that the firmware is in
5. then type tftp -i 192.168.7.1 PUT TEImage.bin
6. Wait untill it says Success.
7. Switch the router off, then back on
8. You should now be able to access the routers web interface again.

Or then I'd have suggested ringing Solwise, but they were totally useless when I had a problem, and not even interested. Apparently once a model is obsolete, they lose all interest in it. You could try it though.

Failing that, I'm out of ideas.
N/A

Is my router dead?

Quote
I'd have suggested ringing Solwise, but they were totally useless when I had a problem, and not even interested. Apparently once a model is obsolete, they lose all interest in it. You could try it though.


No point in trying emails or the forum, no one from solwise will reply to your questions. My SAR130 died a month ago and STILL trying to get SOLWISE to fix it. My suggestion would be to purchase a new router
N/A

Is my router dead?

I had an e-mail response from Solwise technical support in just over 2 hours.

The firmware in the router is corrupt. They've offered to re-program it if I send the router to them, which I am going to do and then keep it as a spare.

In the meantime I need a new router (I can't wait a week or so for this one to come back!) - any reccomendations?

I presume i need a combined ADSL modem and router rather than just a router?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 192
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

Is my router dead?

I use the Netgear DG834G and have always found it to be excellent. It is also wireless if you need this, but they do a very similar one which isn't if you want to save a few pounds.

DG834G - Wireless

DG834 - Not Wireless

Phil