cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interleaving

N/A

Interleaving

Can someone tell me how I can tell if Interleaving is on my line?

I have a Netgear Dg834GT router

I am having no end of problems with speeds of less than dial up or no connection at all, but my stable rate is set to 5500 kbps

but my highest download using the BT speed tester is 1283kbps, with the lowest of 273 kbps with one attempt which timed out after 20 mins.

thanks
for any help
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Interleaving

Enable telnet mode by going to http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

Then telnet into the router and type

cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats

This will give you some additional info including what the netgear thinks your max attainable bitrate is (at the time you synced)

You can tell if it's fast or interleaved by looking at the numbers in this part. The one with the numbers is the one it uses.

[Upstream (TX) Interleave path] 

CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 1
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Downstream (RX) Interleave path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

[Upstream (TX) Fast path]
CRC: 1037 FEC: 48688 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 68

[Downstream (RX) Fast path]
CRC: 249952 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0
N/A

Interleaving

I have the exact same router and found that when I changed the connection type to PPPoE instead of PPPoA, I got a much more stable connection (i.e. no disconnects since). Don''t ask me why this works but it does (at least for me)!
N/A

Interleaving

Thanks for your help

but I am unable to access the stats on the modem

I clicked on the http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug which opened a new window , requested by password, then reported "Debug Enable!"

I then opened a dos box and typed " Telnet 192.168.0.1"

once the telnet window opened I typed "cat /proc/avalance/avsar_modem_stats"

then I get the following error "No such file or directory"

can you tell me how I am going wrong.

thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Interleaving

Sorry had a typo (missed the h)

# cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats
N/A

Interleaving

Quote
Sorry had a typo (missed the h)

# cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats



I am now getting a reply of " NOT FOUND"

thanks for helping
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Interleaving

Maybe the GT model is different..

# cd /proc
# ls

do you have a file (its actually a directory) called avalanche?

if so

# cd avalanche
# ls

post what you see here?

if you don't have a file called avalanche post what you see in the proc directory
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Interleaving

Another option I found for the GT model

# adslctl info --show

The Channel value shows FAST if you are not on interleaving and interleaving (I think) if you are.
N/A

Interleaving

Quote
Another option I found for the GT model

# adslctl info --show

The Channel value shows FAST if you are not on interleaving and interleaving (I think) if you are.



BusyBox v1.00 (2005.07.29-07:22+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.


# adslctl info --show
adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5056 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: G.DMT
Channel: Fast
Trellis: ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 5.4 21.0
Attn(dB): 31.0 17.0
Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.0
Max(Kbps): 5088 980
Rate (Kbps): 5056 448
G.dmt framing
K: 159(0) 15
R: 0 0
S: 1 1
D: 1 1
ADSL2 framing
MSGc: 1 1
B: 159 15
M: 1 1
T: 1 1
R: 0 0
S: 1.0000 1.0000
L: 1280 128
D: 1 1
Counters
SF: 5229938 5229936
SFErr: 1043102 50
RS: 0 0
RSCorr: 0 2
RSUnCorr: 0 0

HEC: 429579 22
OCD: 37 2
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 1058953284 0
Data Cells: 788598 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 39294 0
SES: 24812 0
UAS: 10 0
#
#

Thanks for your help with this, from the above my line is reporting "FAST" and Not interleaving.


I am still having slow downloads / web page access even the BT speed test was showing slow speeds, when I was able to access the speed test page.
N/A

Interleaving

Interleaving wouldn't be responsible for slow download speeds anyway.

Eric
N/A

Interleaving

probably a dodgy BRAS profile or exchange contention then, in that case..
N/A

Interleaving

Quote
probably a dodgy BRAS profile or exchange contention then, in that case..[/quote



can you expand on what you mean by dodgy BRAS Profile ?

my stable rate is indicating 5500, and the contention for the exchange is reported as green.