cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I think I need a lot of help

N/A

I think I need alot of help
I have applied for broadband and it should be active in afew days.
I know that I need a asdl modem but after reading a few post I think that for future proofing a wireless/modem/router/firewall would be better.

I have no knowledge of any of these products, so where should I start ?
I have a blank page, you have experience and hindsight,
can you help ?
9 REPLIES
N/A

The most important thing is to decide what's best for you. You need to look at your needs, and base your purchase on that. For example, if you only have 1 machine, and only ever intend on having one machine, a router may not be the correct choice.

There is a very good article here which will help you decide which is best Smiley
N/A

If you want to future-proof, as you put it, I would recommend not buying an all-in-one wireless/ADSL/modem/router, but buy separate products. This will, admittedly, be more expensive, but will give you greater flexibility in the long term.

For example, as far as I'm aware, the current generation of wireless/modem/routers are all IEEE802.11b wireless devices. But IEEE802.11g is increasingly emerging as the norm these days, so much better (in my view) to buy a separate IEEE802.11g wireless access point.

This will also mean you have a much wider choice of devices, both in terms of your ADSL router and wireless access point. It makes choosing harder, though! It does also mean you can defer the wireless purchase if you want to.

If you do decide to purchase separate devices, the wireless device does not need to be a "wireless router" or "wireless gateway" (but it can if you want that extra flexibility or future-proofing), a straightforward "wireless access point" will do the trick. You will probably find a wireless gateway/router more difficult to configure, a point which should be clear from several threads in this forum.
N/A