cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I stealth a SparkCom Router (AR41/2C)

oridyne
Dabbler

Hi,

I have a Sparkcom Ar41/2C Router and I am a bit of a newbie with all this stuff. When I check my PC on the Shields Up! site it reports that I have ports 23 & 80 open. The others are shown as closed and a couple are even stealthed!.

I did have an ftp port open but I managed to find the config to disable ftp on the router but I have not been able to figure out how to shut down the other 2.

If anyone has any experience with this router and can help me set it up I would appreciate it. I use Zonealarm on my PC so I am not worried about intrusions I just want to hide the router.

Thanks in advance

:?
5 REPLIES
N/A

I would suspect the ports that are shown as open are for admin off the web. If this is the case anyone can logon to your router and configure it. Normaly there is a setting to stop web admin on the wan.

It seems a strange router as normaly you can get loads of info on any router but a google search for this one gives only one hit.
Community Veteran

It may be an OEM branded device. If This is it then the manual can be found here.

We had another member post about this device recently.

[append]
Hmm.. It appears the link to the manual does not work
[/append]
oridyne
Dabbler

I would suspect the ports that are shown as open are for admin off the web. If this is the case anyone can logon to your router and configure it. Normaly there is a setting to stop web admin on the wan.

It seems a strange router as normaly you can get loads of info on any router but a google search for this one gives only one hit.

I took a look at my receipt and although the Box has SparkCom on in the receipt says its a sparkle. Go figure!