cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High pings

michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

Hi,

I seem to be getting high pings on my connection. I'm using the 512k service.

Quote
Ping 80.229.14.246

[michaelscott.plus.com]

Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 140 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 125 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 141 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 125 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 125 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 141 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 125 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 141 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 140 ms
Round trip time to 80.229.14.246: 125 ms

Average time over 10 pings: 132.8 ms


Any ideas as to why this might be? I'm using a Zoom 5510 Modem.

Mike
17 REPLIES
N/A

High pings

Can I ask where you are making the caprison from?

When you have the chance, ping that IP again, and the IP your are on, using the tools available HERE
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

That IP was the IP i'm on.

OK, that was a bit better:

Quote
PING 80.229.14.246 (80.229.14.246) from 212.159.0.136 : 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from michaelscott.plus.com (80.229.14.246): icmp_seq=0 ttl=122 time=75.6 ms
64 bytes from michaelscott.plus.com (80.229.14.246): icmp_seq=1 ttl=122 time=34.2 ms
64 bytes from michaelscott.plus.com (80.229.14.246): icmp_seq=2 ttl=122 time=36.1 ms
64 bytes from michaelscott.plus.com (80.229.14.246): icmp_seq=3 ttl=122 time=35.2 ms
64 bytes from michaelscott.plus.com (80.229.14.246): icmp_seq=4 ttl=122 time=34.9 ms

--- 80.229.14.246 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 34.2/43.2/75.6 ms


This wasn't...

Quote
PING 80.229.14.246 (80.229.14.246) from 216.27.190.146 : 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 80.229.14.246: icmp_seq=1 ttl=114 time=220 ms
64 bytes from 80.229.14.246: icmp_seq=2 ttl=114 time=217 ms
64 bytes from 80.229.14.246: icmp_seq=3 ttl=114 time=217 ms
64 bytes from 80.229.14.246: icmp_seq=4 ttl=114 time=243 ms
64 bytes from 80.229.14.246: icmp_seq=5 ttl=114 time=216 ms

--- 80.229.14.246 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% loss, time 4037ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 216.719/223.137/243.898/10.478 ms



[Edit]
I blame their websites. Is 35 still rathern high for ADSL?
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

While we're on the subject of pings, I recieved 49 from wiggum.monitor.plus.net.uk between 20:20 and 20:26 this evening. Why is that?
N/A

High pings

What I had meant was to use the the tools page on the IP your having trouble with, and also use it to ping your current IP.

This is a determine if there is any issue with the current machine, instead of the destination address.

Rather than sent pings to the tools page.

Where are you sending the pings from that are so high?

I am getting an average of 45ms to michaelscott.plus.com, and the worst is 62ms.
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

OK, i did that and the results were in my 2nd from last post. 75 was the highest and 34.2 the lowest. Are they still high for ADSL?


> "Rather than sent pings to the tools page. "

I was using the tools to ping myself.
N/A

High pings

Instead of using ping, try running a tracert. This shows you the route that your packets take to the website.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

High pings

the ping will depend on the packet size sent, I usually use 1024 to simulate any of the games I use, which is when I get packetloss or highpings. So I would expect as normal ping to be from 55-70, but if using a standard packet size that most pingtools use then under 40
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

High pings

Looking at it, it would seem fifi.org is the problem, and not your PlusNet IP.

216.27.190.146 is in america, and the routing to the IP is not the best. It looks like one of the Level 3 routers in the US is borken or overloaded.

There is little you can do to fix this.
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

Right, OK. Thanks. Just I heard that some people get 15-20ms.

So what is wiggum.monitor.plus.net.uk and why had it pinged me so much earlier in the day (it wasn't when I was using monior.plus.net).

Mike
N/A

High pings

wiggum is monitor.plus.net

Have you attempted to report the issue via contacty us? If so, it may be support doing some tests.

Otherwise, are you sure computers clock is right, thus makign the log timestamps correct.
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

Yeah, the clock on my computer is right, especially as it recorded fifi.org many hours later than wiggum (which was the correct time).

I'll raise a ticket soon, thanks
N/A

High pings

As I have the same modem.

How do you have yours set up? is it Lan or wan?

I had mine set on Lan originaly and when ever i clicked on a link or was trying speed test on adsl org it would need re-clicking a few times or would just time out.
I downloaded the driver directly off the zoom web site which allows you to set up as wan. The details in the status window show connection as isdn, but my connection now flys.

You may alraedy know this and as such I apologise for trying to tell you something you already know.

James
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

High pings

My modem is listed as a 'Zoom USB ADSL WAN Adapter' so I assume it's set up as WAN.

I have no problems with webpages timing out. The modem works perfeclty and hasn't even dropped a connection yet. And for a cheap £40 modem from Dixons, that isn't bad.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

High pings

Though not really necessary, I'll point out that "LAN" means "local area network", eg. a small network inside an office. "WAN" on the other hand means "wide area network", eg. the internet (it's a network that covers a large area with many computers). So that's why you should go for the "WAN" setting with these things. Smiley

Thomas