cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help ! Splitters/microfilters

N/A

Help ! Splitters/microfilters

Hello all, I recieved my PCI ADSL starter pack yesterday and have a couple of questions. Apologies if these are very obvious/simple questions but I am very new to this and trying to make sense of it all!

In the pack we receieved 2 "splitters" but also what looks like (after looking at dslwarehouse) a microfilter.

What are they all for ? I know what the splitter is for, but how/where/why do I need the micro filter ?

Also, the modem is connected to a phoneline I installed in an upstairs bedroom. Do I need to put a splitter on the main phone socket downstairs as well ?

Many thanks for any help you can provide.
2 REPLIES
Community Veteran

RE: Help ! Splitters/microfilters

> Hello all, I recieved my PCI ADSL starter pack yesterday and have a couple of questions. Apologies if these are very obvious/simple questions but I am very new to this and trying to make sense of it all!
>
> In the pack we receieved 2 "splitters" but also what looks like (after looking at dslwarehouse) a microfilter.
>
> What are they all for ? I know what the splitter is for, but how/where/why do I need the micro filter ?
>
> Also, the modem is connected to a phoneline I installed in an upstairs bedroom. Do I need to put a splitter on the main phone socket downstairs as well ?
>
> Many thanks for any help you can provide.

John

The things we refer to as "Splitters" are in actual fact splitters and filters in the same package.
I'll just refer to it as a Splitter from now on.
There should be a wire tail that comes out of the Splitter box and this goes into your phone socket.
On the splitter box should be 2 sockets.
One of these should accept your telephone and this is the Low frequency output of the splitter.
The other socket should accept the cable from your Modem or Router whatever ADSL device you have and this is the High frequency output of the Splitter.