cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For the techies: How do they do traffic shaping?

N/A

Just wondered how Plusnet (et al) actually achieve traffic shaping etc from a technical perspective.

Do they throttle specific ports that are commonly used (eg 6881 for Torrent) or do they use some form of "packet sniffing" to detect the type of data being transmitted. Or is it something else?

Cheers

Dan
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 1

I'm not a techie (there's bound to be one around somewhere) but I understand that the method is a bit of both.

Bill
N/A

Hi there,

Havent been around much over the last week so forgive the lateness of me entering the discussion.

For some light bedtime reading regarding the Ellacoya E30's and the Service Logic Software see This info.

Clever kit to say the least and from what I hear the PN networks guys can even get it to make toast. Smiley
N/A

ROFL, is that cause it to be toasted? :lol: :lol:
N/A

don't expect MN or PN to tell you how the shaping works as they can't implement it correctly anyway. If they can even find the status of it which I severely doubt.

they have had me on a shaped profile since the 9th April and still cannot tell me why they have done it ...... or in fact if they have
N/A

In fairness and with full recognition that mistakes can and do happen with profiling, albeit rarely, the PN networks bods can do stuff with the E30's that even amazed Ellacoya themselves.

Bearing in mind that this is still relatively new kit and technology, and putting aside the random glitches, what they have acheived since rolling out this kit is impressive.

I havent suffered from a wrong profile or any other issue tbh, so can say that with a degree of smugness Smiley but i am sure its a nightmare for those who have experienced problems.

With the process becoming more and more automated going forwards, the margin for error should decrease, but the nature of the game dictates that problems will still occur.