cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firewalls

penguinni
Grafter

Firewalls

I uninstalled Zone Alarm after reading about associated problems on this and other forums and have installed OUTPOST.

Has anyone any experience/comments/recomendations on this or other firewalls?

Im new to Plusnet and upgraded from ISDN to ADSL and so far have experienced no problems from installation to usage (I did have a connection problem initially but it turned out to be a duff phone socket at home!). I download between 40-50 Kbs which is almost 3 times faster than my ISDN. However, some websites eg Ebay, appear to load a tad slower. Any comments?

Stephen
--
15 REPLIES
N/A

RE: Firewalls

Problames with ZoneAlarm? What problems? I've been using it for two years and it catches just about everything you can imagine. Have a look at Gibson Research Corp site... hhtp://www.grc.com ...

they believe in it implicitly after much testing! and also have opinions on others.
N/A

> Problames with ZoneAlarm? What problems? I've been using it for two years and it catches just about everything you can imagine. Have a look at Gibson Research Corp site... hhtp://www.grc.com ...
>
> they believe in it implicitly after much testing! and also have opinions on others.

I think the problem referred to originally was actually the advise given out last weekend during "that event" to turn off Zonealarm or at least lower the protection level, to allow sensible browsing.

Interestingly (at least to me), I visited grc.com just now - and I got the same results from their "testing" whether Zonealarm was running or not.

Does the testing performed by these guys actually do anything at allHuh

Jeremy

--
Saturn
Grafter

The answer to your question surely depends on whether you are using a router and, if so, what firewall capability it has.