cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Failed speed test - |Dumb question time.

gothstevek
Dabbler

This is my first post on these forums so be gentle with me! Wink

I've recently received notification from PN that:
Unfortunately your phone line was unable to support a faster speed than your existing service. This was confirmed after a series of line tests.

I decided to request a whoosh test to see if there is any chance of increasing my 512kb speed. The reply I received was:
Circuit In Sync
Upstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 27 dB
Cell Count 53140350

Downstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 42 dB
Cell Count 520478291

Not being an expert I was wondering if anyone here can confirm if my ADSL speeds can be increased beyond the 512kb I'm currently on.

Any advice (short of moving home) would be gratefully received.

Many thanks
Steve
8 REPLIES
Alecto
Grafter

It's downstream that counts, and the upper limit attenuation (loop loss) for 2Mb is 43 db, so you're within that.

Ask them for the whoosh test that gives SNR as well. This needs to be over 10db downstream.

If it is, ring them up and explain that you're within the 2Mb limits and you'd like an upgrade.
gothstevek
Dabbler

Ask them for the whoosh test that gives SNR as well. This needs to be over 10db downstream.

Thanks... I would've thought the whoosh test would include the SNR too! Oh well I'll raise another ticket - hopefully support won't be too miffed with me!
Alecto
Grafter

Seems there's two kinds of whoosh tests, according to what I read on one of Peter's posts. One with SNR and one without.

Why they don't just do the one with SNR in as well is beyond me. :roll:
vic_newey
Grafter

The line test in question is totally automatic & simply takes into account previous records for your line which may date back 10 years.