cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disconnection Questions

N/A

Disconnection Questions

as I'm new to broadband, I don't know much about it. After a few hours it just stops doing anything online e.g. web pages won't load and instant messaging programs logout and won't log back in.. The only way I found to resolve this problem so far is to restart my computer, then it works perfectly again.

Is there anything else I can do?

Also, is there a set connection time? Yesterday. it disconnected and reconnected after being online for 6 hours.

Thanks in advance,
Danny

Moderators note (John) Topic moved to relevant forum section.
29 REPLIES
pcorker
Grafter

Disconnection Questions

Give the forum users a bit more info and I expect you will get more answers.
Connection type and hardware, OS, when problem started, always or intermittent, does it re-occur after a restart, variable ar precise timing, what manufacturer for mobo chips , error messages etc
Pat.
N/A

Disconnection Questions

I'm using win xp, its not a big problem, its just, it did it again, after 9 hours of being connected it disconnected and reconnected and I don't understand why.

I'm on the Easy Start broadband package and I have the Binatone modem that comes with it.

Any suggestions?
pcorker
Grafter

Disconnection Questions

Are there VIA manufactured chips on the motherboard?
Have you checked the status of the exchange?
Have you analysed your connection?
Addresses for all this (and much more!) are on this website.
Pat.
wombleuk
Dabbler

Disconnection Questions

I and, it seems, a lot of other people are having the same problem and we all get pointed to master socket, line problems etc.
I've installed the latest via drivers and bought a powered hub, but it still does it.
I can't put my machine on the master socket for hours on end to see if it happens there, because it's in an awkward place.
Besides, I don't think that will make any difference.