cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DG834 setup

PLC
Grafter

DG834 setup

In anticipation of my line being activated in the next week or so I am trying to set up my DG834G router. As a complete novice my attempts are failing because I don't seem to be able to get the network card settings to correspond with the router. given the router has an address of 192.168.0.1 what do I need to set the network card up as? Should I alter the router's default and if so to what? I have a single PC and a single laptop that I wish to use or ayt least have the choice of using. Any specific settings would be most welcome. Thank you.
53 REPLIES
N/A

DG834 setup

IP and DNS for the network card should all be set to automatic.
The router should be left at the default as a DHCP server, which is in the LAN IP setup section of the Advanced section on the routers web interface.

You may have to use a cable connection to get the initial system running and look at the wireless side after.
Mine is the non wireless version, so I can't help you on the wireless side.

When you have it all working, update the firmware to 1.03, but do be sure to follow the instructions to the letter and only when you have a stable system.
PLC
Grafter

Thanks for that. However, this does not work! Looking at the settings for the Solwise router one is specifically told to set the network card address to 192.168.7.2 with a subnet mask 255.255.255.0 and the default gateway to 192.168.7.1 In this case the router has a default address of 192.168.7.1.
N/A

DG834 setup

You can ignore any instructions for the Solwise router, that is a different make and will have different ranges .
The default IP address of the Solwise router is 192.168.7.1, as you say.
The default for the DG834 is 192.168.0.1, so the network cards will be assigned 192.168.0.2 and up by the router (providing they are set to obtain IP address automatic and the router is set as DHCP server as previously mentioned).