cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

as i don't seem to be getting the decent speed's on PAYG that i am paying for in the evening's...so can I be put back on PLUS without being charged a regrade fee....I only switched because of te poor speed's originally experianced on PLUS!

yhanks
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

If you are not getting good speeds on PAYG I'd suggest that you could be seeing exchange contention and it's nothing to do with Plusnet.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

is there a way I can check for exchange contention...my last speedtest, and it's NOT acceptable..

Last Result:
Download Speed: 1310 kbps (163.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 382 kbps (47.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

Hi,

I would discount any speed problems this evening because of this problem:

http://usertools.plus.net/status/archive/1173820552.htm

You can though check for any known exchange issues here:

http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

@julesp1970

Have you looked to see if you've had the ticket added to your account to say you are set up on the new network yet?

http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?p=409995#409995
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,624
Thanks: 610
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

Quote

Last Result:
Download Speed: 1310 kbps (163.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 382 kbps (47.8 KB/sec transfer rate)


While I understand that these speeds are not as high as you have previously seen they are still well above BT's acceptable levels for ADSL of 400k.

Nothing has changed on our side in regards to your account, it may have been due to the issues Dave pointed out, hopefully the speeds will be back to levels you expect.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

just found this in closed questions...

A modify order has now completed on this account to place the customer onto the new network.
N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

Yip, didn't you receive the email from PN about allowing you to trial the BT RIN network?

You can read discussion on the new network here
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,624
Thanks: 610
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

That means you can now test out our new network, simply update the connection details in your modem/router to use username@plusdsl2.net and you should be connected. See the following thread for more info.

https://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=54328
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

should i find a speed diffrence? if yes, I'm not still just under 4000
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,624
Thanks: 610
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

It shouldn't affect your sync speed, 4000 is a good speed to be connected at.
The page I linked to should give you all the information about the new network and the differences it may have.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

BUT i was on a linespeed of 4500 - 5000 and now the big drop, my line according t router is syncing at 6300
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,624
Thanks: 610
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

The drop is not due to the new network, BT have set your profile lower than previously due to a poor sync event. If your modem/router syncs higher for 3-5 days then this will be lifted up again.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
N/A

Can I switch back BB PLUS now...

ok , when I tried earlier to connect using the plusdsl2.net login I lost my conection completely untl about 15-20 mins ago, and speeds whee very poor last night, so let's hope it does improve.