cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

markweaver
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 31-07-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Hi all,

When I first signed up with plusnet the BT Adsl checker said I could only get a 512k line, which i did.

I have just checked again on BT.com and now it says I may be able to get a 1meg line but a engineer might need to visit or something along those lines Smiley

These are the figures from my DG384g router

Downstream
*Connection Speed 576 kbps
*Line Attenuation 46 db
*Noise Margin 27 db

Upstream
*Connection Speed 288 kbps
*Line Attenuation 31 db
*Noise Margin 28 db

I was just wondering what your initial thoughts were?

I dont want to waste plusnets time if its not looking good.

Thanks
Mark
9 REPLIES
N/A

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Those look pretty good for a 1Mb line.

They are only just outside of the old limits for 1Mb.
markweaver
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 31-07-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Thanks acarr,

I think I may have to upgrade Smiley

Just as a matter of interest how old are the old limits?

Have they recently changed?

Thanks
Mark
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

The limits changed on 6th Sept (this month).

old: 512K 60dB or less, 1Mb & 2mb 45dB or less

new: 512K no limit, 1Mb 60dB or less, 2Mb 45dB or less.

So you are 1bB over for getting 2Mb so 1Mb should be no problem. You woul dnot have got 1Mb if the old limts were in place.
N/A

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Here's my router stats and I'm on 1MB


Line Status
ADSL Link Speed Downstream 1152kbps Upstream 288kbps
SNR Downstream 11.5 dB
ATEN Downstream 52 dB Upstream 28 dB

Loop Distance: About 10 K ft.
kreynolds
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: 05-04-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

My router stats for 1Mb

DSL Parameter


DSL Parameters and Status
Vendor ID: 00B5GSPN
Revision Number: Y1.16.3
Serial Number: Solwise-271003d
Local Tx Power: 11.75 dB
Remote Tx Power: 17.76 dB
Local Line Atten.: 27.0 dB
Remote Line Atten.: 19.0 dB
Local SNR Margin: 40.0 dB
Remote SNR Margin: 26.0 dB
Self Test: Passed
DSL Standard: G.dmt
Trellis Coding: Enable
Framing Structure: Framing-3
Config Data Up Down
Intrlvd Fast Intrlvd Fast
AS0(kbps): - - 0 1152
AS1(kbps): - - 0 0
LS0(kbps): 0 288 - -
LS1(kbps): 0 0 - -
RValue: 0 0 0 0
SValue: 1 1
DValue: 1 1


According to BT I'm approx 9km away from the exchange on wiring distance, 1.5 km as the crow flies!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Looking at those figures there is no way that you are 9k from the exchange as the wiring goes. :?
I would estimate that your wiring route is about 1.5k to 2k
kreynolds
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: 05-04-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Just saying what the BT guy said when I eventually got the line connected after them finding a fault in the wiring between me and the exchange, but then again who believes BT?? LOL
markweaver
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 31-07-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Quote
The limits changed on 6th Sept (this month).

old: 512K 60dB or less, 1Mb & 2mb 45dB or less

new: 512K no limit, 1Mb 60dB or less, 2Mb 45dB or less.

So you are 1bB over for getting 2Mb so 1Mb should be no problem. You woul dnot have got 1Mb if the old limts were in place.


I have heard the term "regraded" being thrown about... what exactly does that mean?

PS
My Router is now showing a Line Attenuation of 45 db downstream Smiley

Maybe I could get 2meg Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Can I get a 1 meg line with these router stats

Regrade is a common term used to represent a change in speed, either higher or lower or a change in contention, either higher or lower. i.e. a single word to represent changing your ADSL connection.

The other terms upgrade and downgrade refer to just one action either up or down but not both.

So if you say regrade you are refering to both an upgrade and a downgrade.