cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying a new router - Solwise SAR715 Or Netgear DG814?

N/A

Buying a new router - Solwise SAR715 Or Netgear DG814?

Hi all,

Hopefully very near to having my PlusNet account activated and I've been looking at possible modem/routers for my setup.

After a great deal of research via forums (adsl-guide) and the web my decision is down to :

1) Solwise SAR715, or
2) Netgear DG814

Could any existing PlusNet customers comment on either of the above - reliability, ease of setup, speed, etc.

The prices are similar and I've heard good things about the support Solwise offer on the SAR715, however most of my current network gear (a small home LAN) is Netgear manufactured (8-port Switch, Wireless Access Point, and Wireless/Wired network cards), so should existing hardware compatibility be a factor to consider too?

Although I work in IT, and consider myself pretty savvy at most stuff, I'm not a networking/telecoms guy so I'm unable to see the benefits/pitfalls of either of these products versus the other beyond what I have viewed in these forums (and at adsl-guide).

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Tim.
8 REPLIES
N/A

RE: Buying a new router - Solwise SAR715 Or Netgear DG814?

HI! I haven't YET got ADSL Sad but I have been trying to keep an eye routers as thats the route Cheesy I'd go.
I've heard lots of good things about the solwise sar715 except for the recent problems BT caused with the exchange upgrades.
Have you seen the Nokia IP55 which you can now get for £99 it seems to have a lot of the same features as the sar715 with a GUI interface.
I'd certainly consider it. Smiley
--
www.billysworld.co.uk
N/A

Oops! forgot the link for you to check it out. http://www.itchest.co.uk/price-crash.asax

--
www.billysworld.co.uk
N/A

> Oops! forgot the link for you to check it out. http://www.itchest.co.uk/price-crash.asax
>
>
> --
> www.billysworld.co.uk