cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband now chugging narrow!

N/A

Towards the end of my last billing period I exceeded my 8gb usage and PN placed my line under constraint - throughput in the region of 120 - 135kbps. I was told this has now been reset for the new billing period but I cannot get any decent speed. the most recent PN speed test gave me 208kbps. the BT test gave me an IP profile of 1000kbs DSL 448 up 1728 down, actual IP throughput 86!! I have a Binatone ADSL 500 modem [2 lights version] I have rebooted a number of times in the last week averaging around 2000 for the download but still the actual throughput remains around 130. I reinstalled the binatone but this has made no difference. I have had 4 years of decent service from PN but now my ticket raised with them is suggesting I get a BT engineer in; which I am loath to do as I will get hit with a charge of over £200 if the problem is with me and not them. I'm not very technically minded but any thoughts would be appreciated.
8 REPLIES
chrisc
Grafter

We recently investigated a problem regarding this issue and it was believed to have been resolved.

It appears that a few accounts are still experiencing the problem and I have now reopened the problem and our networks team are looking at it now.

Hopefully we'll get this resolved soon for you.
N/A

I'm lost...or is it the others?

connected again this a.m. best I could get was 448/1984 but actual throughput with PN test showed 119 !! So further time with no news videos, online gaming and erratic FTP connection. I noticed this from thejonesfamily user this morning:
I've still got no connection, however I have been told that "We have seen multiple faults for your area for customers connecting via BT equipment and LLU equipment , which would suggest there is major issue rather than an individual line problem" which is all well and good but still leaves me without an Internet connection!