cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Cabling problem?

luddesdowne

BT Cabling problem?

I am new to Broadband and to PlusNet and am generally very happy with both. However I have my system set to manually log on and every now and again the initial logon fails. If I run the modem diagnostics it shows all passes except for the PPP layer, which shows FAIL. I understand that this is normally caused by the wrong username being input, but in this case that is input automatically by the software.
The Plusnet tech support guys have suggested uninstalling and reinstalling the modem drivers, which does work for a time. They also put me in touch with the Binatone tech support team who suggested I may have a problem with old cabling from the BT access popint in the road across my front garden and into the house and then on to the PC. This they feel could cause enough of a signal loss to give occasional problems especially when everything was not optimal.
My system is running XP Professional, with the modem being connected via a USB hub (although the problem was there before I installed the hub).
Anyone got any thoughts before I go to the expense of getting BT involved.
4 REPLIES
N/A

BT Cabling problem?

One major question here. Do you disconnect manualy, or does the connection drop? (hence your need to manualy redial).

If it is a manual disconnect, then I don't see the cable issue being in the equasion.

ADSL requires that a whole chain of events occur, to allow the computer/modem to then authenticate with PlusNet. The authentication stage (the part yours is failing on) is the least prone to see issues being caused by bad cabling.

Bad cabling would normaly account for a whole host of other symptoms at the same time, even if scatter amongst random times. You would have noticed these by now and reported them.

Authentication works by contacting BT Radius servers. These forward them onto PlusNet in turn. A bit like a daisy chain.