cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adsl Speed Question

Community Veteran

Adsl Speed Question

No, I was relating to the four posts you made to try and correct me and adp450. Smiley

Anyway, enough of this, we're going a bit off topic.

Thomas
21 REPLIES
N/A

Adsl Speed Question

Hi,

I'm new to adsl, i have been on Cable before.
Could someone tell me if i should be able to get my full up speed and down speed at the same time (full duplex).
I seem to get around full 2 mbit downstream (240 kbytes), but if i upload at the same time, my downstream cuts down to around 30 kbytes. Is this normal for adsl?

Thanks

Steve
Community Veteran

Adsl Speed Question

Yes, especially for RADSL. Remember, the A in ADSL stands for "asymmetric". You can get SDSL (symmetric) from some providers, but it is expensive.

Thomas
N/A

Adsl Speed Question

kruglin misses the point you should be able to upload at full speed 32K and download at your full speed (2 mbit in your case) at the same time
Community Veteran
Fixes: 2

Adsl Speed Question

nope impossible as you need some of your bandwidth as a Over head buffer unless as kuglin says you want to pay for a SDSL aka T1 ie same speed up and down.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

Adsl Speed Question

(cont)
if the upload speed is fully at 32k then this can slow down the download a bit as you can not send confirmation of received packets of downloaded data as quick as you should ( as the UL bandwidth is swamped), so the sender knows to send the next bit of data to you

best to cap whatever you are uploading to say 28_30 k leaving a bit of banwidth that is the available to confirm reciepts of download data
N/A

Adsl Speed Question