cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accessing Email

siblands
Dabbler

Accessing Email

I am experiencing problems with receiving email a situation that has existed for over ten days.
I am repeatedly asked to give username and password yet after doing this I am still unable to obtain recognition.
I can send email but not receive.
I can log on to Metronet web site so the username and password must be correct.
Any helpful suggestions would be welcomed.
Confused OAP
21 REPLIES
N/A

Accessing Email

Hi there. I'm no expert but I had a similar problem and this fixed it for me. In your e-mail program, Outlook Express or whatever you're using, go to Tools, Accounts, select the Mail tab. There should be one or more Accounts listed. Select the default one, probably called Mail Server, and over to the right select Properties. Now select the Servers tab, and look to see if the box that says Log on using Secure Password Authenitication is ticked. If it is, select it so the tick disappears. The other box that says my outgoing server requires authentication should also be unticked. Also check that the server for outgoing mail is set to smtp.metronet.co.uk. Then just select OK and close. Try it then and hopefully it will be OK. If not, I suggest you email the helpdesk to see if they can suggest anything. Hope this helps. Tony
siblands
Dabbler

Accessing Email

Tony you are a star.
I have managed to access my email and it would appear that my wife can also do this for her mail.
Simple solution but one which over streatched Metronet Technical bods !!
I find their help line singularly unhelpful and being told how important my call is during three separate call to them has done little to improve their reputation. Must be charitable though the broadband £11.75 pm works for me -- usually!!
Many thank mate.
Brian.
PS First time I have used a discussion forum and at 70 years of age I am encouraged by your speedy assistance.
Community Veteran
Fixes: 1