cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

powernumpty
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 12-09-2007

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

I'm looking for recomendations for ADSL modems that I can use to get the full benefit of the faster connection.

I will be putting a Linksys VPN end point/router (specified by company policy) behind the modem so all it will be doing is converting the ADSL to ethenet.

I see there is a linksys product but in reviews they talk about support PPOE only

thanks for any experience (maybe this is all too new)

Stu
5 REPLIES
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

If you mean the ADSL2MUE it does PPOA. Also can be used NAT or in bridged mode.
I have seen quite a few, one did fry though!

Hope this helps
powernumpty
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 12-09-2007

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

Sounds Like the one.

Thanks for that,
saw in reviews on Ebuyer (I think), that is did PPOE only.
I figured they were wrong but as I have to get three going I didn't want to risk it.

I may bite the bullet and just try a couple.

Don't suppose you know any more about the one that fried?
was it actually a modem hardware fault or PSU?

I wish I could look year into the future and see what is the most reliable.

(Yes your post did help)
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

It wasn't the power supply,.No one could remember if there was a thunder storm at the time, so it might of been a surge
powernumpty
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 12-09-2007

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

Acts of God i can live with!
I've seen more kit just "suddenly die" after a storm than from other means, I hope its just that.

Does remind me to get some decent surge arrestors or UPS with that feature.
(could be interesting to see if any surge kit affects the speed)

Cheers again
powernumpty
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 12-09-2007

ADSL2 modem - Bridge mode

For the record, I bought a few ADSL2MUE

The adsl2mue is very limited in PPoA so bridged mode was my only real option.
The VPN router behind it (Linksys RV042) does not support PPoA so (after reading a review on ADSLguide) I set the RV042 to PPoE.
This works but I ran into MTU problems with Plus net (onetel worked at default setting)
Droping the MTU back to 1468 (read that somewhere on here) allowed the setup to work.

I've not done many test yet (other than a dslreport tweak test) so any other recommendations would be apreciated.
I notice the MTU setting for VPN is about 1430 does anyone know if that would actually make much difference to the performance?