cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL down?

pint
Grafter
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

ADSL down?

For the last couple of days now, Ive been unable to connect via ADSL, all i get is a message on firefox and iinternet explorer telling me that the page could not be found, my router is fully synched and conected, and everything seems OK, another device reports something about DNS errors.
Ive tried clicking on the network conections, and selecting repair conection, but its not making any difference.
whats happening?
4 REPLIES
pint
Grafter
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

ADSL down?

Ive tried the comand prompt thingy by putting this in..

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings>ping 195.166.128.16

Pinging 195.166.128.16 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.

Ping statistics for 195.166.128.16:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings>ping www.plus.net
Ping request could not find host www.plus.net. Please check the name and try again.

C:\Documents and Settings>
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

ADSL down?

It is possible for your router to have sync from the exchange but not be reaching Plusnet.
If you go into the setup of your router is it saying that it has recieved an IP address from plusnet?
pint
Grafter
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

ADSL down?

After a lot of fuss, it statred working again.
I could connect to the BT speedtest@speesdtest_domain website OK, and the router Config pages Ok, but nothing else.

my router was 9 and still is) fully synched with the exchange throughout.
N/A

ADSL down?

I'm getting a lot of Server Not Found at the moment.