cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL dial-up connection?

N/A

ADSL dial-up connection?

HI

I've been using plusnet ADSL for 3 months and am very pleased thanks very much.

But, I have only just noticed that my connection is listed as a dialup connection in >control panel >network connections. Should it be in Broadband? Also maybe a silly question but does everyone when they first connect have to wait a few seconds for the "verifying username and password" box to dissappear?

I am recieving high download speeds upto 74kbs tonight on some downloads, so the adsl is definetly working!

many thanks
doozer
7 REPLIES
espresso_mick
Grafter

RE: ADSL dial-up connection?

You have an entry as Dial-up for your ADSL connection because you still have to login to the service using Windows dial-up networking.

I have to wait only a second or two for the verifying username and password box to disappear.
N/A

I have to connect this way, so I was also wondering if this was normal !

My problem is I then have to wait for (literally) 1 minute for it to verify password and enable me to surf.

Is such a long wait normal ? (My previous 56K dial-up only used to take about 10 secs or so to log me in)

Anyone know it there's a setting I can change somewhere ?

Mike.

> You have an entry as Dial-up for your ADSL connection because you still have to login to the service using Windows dial-up networking.
>
> I have to wait only a second or two for the verifying username and password box to disappear.
>

N/A

> I have to connect this way, so I was also wondering if this was normal !
>
> My problem is I then have to wait for (literally) 1 minute for it to verify password and enable me to surf.
>
> Is such a long wait normal ? (My previous 56K dial-up only used to take about 10 secs or so to log me in)
>
> Anyone know it there's a setting I can change somewhere ?
>
> Mike.