cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL connection using USB modem & Win2000Pro

N/A

Hiya,
I'm a newbie to broadband (which I'm sure will show!) but I've been looking through the configuration tutorials for the Binatone 500 usb modem and getting things configured (in the hope that everything will work first try when BT figure out if they've activated adsl on my line yet or not. Yesterday they said they had - today, they're not sure. :roll: )

My concern is that in the tutorial (written for 98 or XP) it has you entering information in places which aren't offered as options with the installation for 2000. Anyone have any experience in this? Are those bits automatically configured, or do I have to go somewhere else (i.e. network settings) and configure them manually? I don't have any idea if I've configured it completely until after I have confirmation from PN that the line has been activated, and from other information on the site, I gather that could be a while longer in coming. (Of course BT not knowing what's going on hasn't helped either! LOL)

Thanks for the input!

Ilene
4 REPLIES
N/A

From what I've looked up the installation should cover nearly everything within the installation program.

Can you tell me what bits are listed for XP but are not displayed within 2000?

Finally until your line is fully activated, you won't know if everthing is fully working. However your modem should power up, it won't be able to sync and should display an error indicating your ATM Connection is down.
N/A

For reference, I'm looking at the usb_modem_guide.shtml from the PN support section.

I get the screen asking for the country you're in.

Then I get a screen asking to confirm login settings.

'Protocol: PPPoA VC-Mux
VPI: 0
VCI: 38
ADSL Handshake protocol: Autosense - G.dmt first'

And the option to either accept these and move on to the next screen or go on to advanced options.