cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL and Netgear dg814 and stuff

N/A

ADSL and Netgear dg814 and stuff

Hey all, I'm quite new to this adsl lark, and was wondering one tiny little thing.

I use the Netgear dg814 modem router for my plusnet connection, and have noticed that my computer doesnt need to be turned on for it to work. I didn't realise the router works independantly of my pc (i told you i was new to this)...
My question is, is it safe to leave the router switched on when I'm not on my pc (or any other connected pcs) and the pc's are switched off? Isn't there a possibility of a hacker logging into the router and waiting for one of the connected pc's to switch on?
And finally, why is it that the router will just connect to the net of its own accord? Is that meant to be like that?

Thanks for any help and advice in advance,
Smiley
JakobG
4 REPLIES
N/A

RE: ADSL and Netgear dg814 and stuff

> Hey all, I'm quite new to this adsl lark, and was wondering one tiny little thing.
>
> I use the Netgear dg814 modem router for my plusnet connection, and have noticed that my computer doesnt need to be turned on for it to work. I didn't realise the router works independantly of my pc (i told you i was new to this)...
> My question is, is it safe to leave the router switched on when I'm not on my pc (or any other connected pcs) and the pc's are switched off? Isn't there a possibility of a hacker logging into the router and waiting for one of the connected pc's to switch on?
> And finally, why is it that the router will just connect to the net of its own accord? Is that meant to be like that?
>
> Thanks for any help and advice in advance,
> Smiley
> JakobG

Hi,

Don't worry about leaving the router on, that's what they are made to do. Your router contains your username, password and a bunch of other boring configs. It is configured to automatically connect to your ISP.