Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switch to Aladdin service going wrong

andyrogers
Grafter

Switch to Aladdin service going wrong

Moderator's Note:
Since changing this user over to the Aladdin service appears to have led to the same problem reoccurring I've gathered and merged relevant posts from two other topics into this one so that the full history is all together.

Hi All
I am new to this trial now, my account was changed across yesterday using the Family Profile.
Last night I tried and and accessed a couple of sites which should have been blocked, but did let me have access to them.  I did restart my router a couple of times to re-establish my connection but still the same.
The one site i tried was http://www.phazeddl.com which I know it blocked by 4 categories according to Aladdin website.
I did have my DNS server settings pointed to opendns.com servers as I usually use their service.  Would this make a difference?
I have changed them to point to PlusNet DNS servers last night and still got the same results.
Maybe it will work tonight, I shall check tonight.
Andy
31 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 36

Re: Switch to Aladdin service going wrong

Welcome to the trial.
That site is blocked for me.
Please could you confirm that your connection really has been switched to Aladdin by doing the following?
In a command window run tracert ntp.plus.net (help here). If the first hop shows 32.core.plus.net you are on the trial.
Thanks
David
David
Community Veteran

I suspect you'll need to disconnect and reconnect your connection equipment to 'enable' the trial once you have been set up to go.
B.
andyrogers
Grafter

Hm
First i was connected to lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net then lo0-plusnet.thn-ag3.plus.net & now lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag1.plus.net
Did someone forget to enable my account on the trial?
Andy
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 36