cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Barry's Impressions of PAYH

Community Veteran

Barry's Impressions of PAYH

So, I wanted to test something on php 5.2 and I got Kev to set me up with a PAYH account on Plesk-host01
Initial problems logging into the Control Panel were solved by removing all "plus.net" cookies from my FF3 installation  (I'm guessing that the Plesk system may have a .plus.net overall domain cookie that conflicts with somewhere else Wink)
Logged in and familiarised myself with the system.  I've never used Plesk before (although I have used DirectAdmin which is one of it's competitors).
Some comments:
1.  I was expecting an initial FTP user to be set up, but it wasn't.  A quick 2 min job to do, but certainly should be documented for anyone creating their account automatically.
2.  MySQL setup was painless for me, as a techie-head, but certainly more documentation on how to do it should be available.
3.  One thing that really bothered me is the inability to decompress archives on the server.  I initially uploaded a .tar.gz file which I obviously couldn't decompress, so I had to decompress locally, and then upload all of the files individually.  "It would be nice" if you could command Plesk to decompress a file for you from the File Manager (in lieu of no SSH access).  IMO this is one thing that DirectAdmin does allow and it works very well.
4.  Support for php_ini overrides in .htaccess works perfectly, and as a whole the system seems very stable and functional.  I will be doing some more tests with various things over the next few days so I'll keep you posted.
B.
11 REPLIES
Kev_Mawson
Grafter

Re: Barry's Impressions of PAYH

Hi
Thanks for the feedback, keep it coming
With regards to the FTP account, when you add a domain you will be asked to choose an FTP user name and password, as I am adding the domains to your account for you, so that you are not charged I am not setting the password.